return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Multimedia Center > Microform Collections


Microform Collections
A listing of selected microform available in the Capen Multimedia Center.




ERIC Documents

Description

ERIC documents have been distributed by the Educational Resources Information Center since 1966. They include research studies, government and institutional reports, curriculum guides, speeches, proceedings, tests and measures, policy papers, and other non-periodical materials spanning the entire field of education. Many have not been published elsewhere, so they constitute a very useful resource for researchers in education, psychology, urban planning, library studies, and the social sciences in general. Some, however (especially ones from the past several years), can be found on the Internet by typing the title into a search engine such as Google .

Location

Most ERIC documents are available on microfiche in the Libraries Annex at call number MicFiche LB5.U5. They are filed by ERIC record Accession Number, which starts with ED followed by a six-digit number (e.g. ED472464 ). Exceptions are those records noted "Not available from ERIC;" check for them as books in BISON the UB Libraries Catalog .  To request an ERIC Document from the Annex, go to the page Request Forms A-Z.

Access

Most ERIC documents do not appear in BISON , but all are indexed in the ERIC Database . Searching ERIC usually results in a mix of references to journal articles and ERIC documents, but you can specify either one by setting the Document Type option in Advanced Search mode.

Although ERIC document records offer a link to "E-Subscribe & EDRS order options," those options require payment from the searcher. The UB Libraries will not cover the costs because most ERIC documents are already available in the Libraries Annex, and some are free on the Web as noted above.



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility