return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Multimedia Center > Microform Collections


Microform Collections
A listing of selected microform available in the Capen Multimedia Center.




Current National Statistical Compendiums

Description

Statistical Compendiums are serial publications (often yearbooks) of national governments that contain annual social, economic and demographic data for the country as a whole. They are an excellent source for data about a country that is more detailed than would be found in sources covering more than one country.

The collection includes more than 150 countries. The fiche are arranged by subsets based on continent and within each subset by country name. For each country the reports are listed chronologically. The time coverage varies from country to country, some going back to the late 70's and early 80's, though reports may not be available for every year.

Location

Statistical Compendiums are available on microfiche in the CAPEN Multimedia Center at call number MicFiche HA 154 C8 .

Access

All the titles for the individual publications included in this collection are listed in BISON, UB Libraries Catalog . To determine if a particular country is part of the collection, do a keyword search (the default search) looking for the country name and the phrase "statistical compendiums" e.g., kenya and statistical compendiums

Since variations in the spelling of the country name are possible, when a keyword search is unsuccessful, try browsing the complete list of publications. To bring up the full list do a title search for the name of the collection; e.g., current national statistical compendiums

A list and description of the publications included in the collection can be found in the guide, Current National Statistical Compendiums Bibliographic Guide , which is located in the Capen Multimedia Center at Reference HA 154 C8 Guide. Also in this reference collection are current editions of print compendium for selected countries. Consult a reference librarian for help in identifying these and earlier editions that would be located in the circulating collection.

If your interest is in current statistics for a country, check to see if its statistical agency publishes information on the Internet. Use the U.S. Bureau of the Census list of International Statistical Agencies as a starting point.



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility