return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Romance Languages & Literature > Selected Resources


Romance Languages & Literature:
Selected Resources


Romance Languages and Literatures information is available in a variety of formats--traditional books and periodicals as well as numerous electronic resources. The list below links to many types of information that may be useful for doing modern languages and literatures research.

  • Indexes and Abstracts
  • Dictionaries
  • Databases
  • Websites


Indexes and Abstracts

Preferred

MLA International Bibliography. Compiled by the Modern Language Association of America, MLA contains citations to books, book chapters, journal articles and dissertations published on literature, modern languages, linguistics, and folklore. In addition to English and American literature, it also covers European, Asian, African, and Latin American literatures.
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. LML Ref Index Area P1 L5 1967-1994. Includes abstracts and citations to language and linguistic science material from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Also covers monographs, recent books, technical reports, and citations for book reviews. Citations include title of article, author, publisher, journal title and volume/page numbers, year of publication and language that the article was written in. Most citations also include a descriptive abstract.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index. LML Ref Z 5937 A795 (Index Area). Has a Permuterm subject index (rotated title words plus key words) and the Source index. Source index volume can be used to find all recent articles by an author. Titles translated into English.

Other:
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.
LML Ref Z 2483.A65 (also available online)
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
LML Ref Z 2483 .E94
Francis : Bulletin Signalétique. 523, Histoire et Sciences de la Littérature.
LML AI 7 F7 section 523. Classified arrangement of references and abstracts, plus various indexes (revues depouillees; congres; concepts; auteurs et oeuvres anonymes; table des auteurs)
Latin American Studies on CD-ROM. LML Ref CD-ROM Z1601 .L37 1970-present. Includes citations from the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), the Handbook of Latin American Studies (vol. 50 to the present), and the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.

Philosopher's Index. LML Ref , UGL Ref B 1 P4 (Index Area), LML CD-ROM

Return to Top


divider



Dictionaries

Foreign-language dictionaries can found in the stacks or the reference collection by browsing the following call numbers:

French PC 2108-PC 3741
German PF 3146-PF 5636
Italian PC 1460-PC 1645
Polish PG 6580-PG 7367
Portuguese PC 5121-PC 5446
Russian PG 2111-PG 3094
Spanish PC 4625-PC 4822
Return to Top


divider



Databases

ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies).

ARTFL (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language). Included is a searchable database of nearly 2,000 French texts, and databases of new additions, Provencal poetry, and French women writers.

Contemporary Authors. A source of full-text information on more than 100,000 current writers of all types. Includes biographical information as well as a comprehensive, chronological list of works. A list of books and periodicals in which additional information on an author's life and/or writings appears. Extended Search Mode allows retrieval by nationality via a pull-down menu. Includes only non-English-language authors who have published in the US or have been translated into English.

Ethnic NewsWatch. This product provides full text articles selected from approximately 100 ethnic and minority newspapers and magazines in the US, providing users with a multi-cultural perspective on a full range of topics from the arts to current events.

French Literature. A UB Libraries guide.

Spanish and Latin American Literature. A UB Libraries guide.

Dissertations

Digital Dissertations. BISON Online Resources. To locate a specific Dissertation written at UB, use the UB BISON Catalog and do an author search (A=). You may prefer to browse for Dissertations by doing a title search using "dissertation" and the department name (T=dissertation modern languages). For older works, use "french," "german," or "spanish" in place of the department name.

Return to Top


divider



Websites

There is a wealth of information on the Internet which is useful to the student of languages and literature. The following list of Web sites related to Romance Languages and Literatures is not comprehensive; new sites are continually being developed. The list includes several meta-sites which may partially duplicate each other.

Dictionaries
On-line Dictionaries (http://www.yourdictionary.com) maintained by Bucknell is an impressive collection of 300 dictionaries for 100-plus languages. It includes links beyond dictionaries to other language resources.
Language Dictionaries and Translators
http://http://www.word2word.com/dictionary.html
Language Resources
Ethnologue (http://www.sil.org/ethnologue/ethnologue.html) is a catalog of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries. this is the thirteenth edition of Ethnologue: Langues of the World edited by Barbara F. Grimes.

The Human-Languages Page (http://www.june29.com//HLP/) is a catalog of more than 1600 links to language-related Internet resources.

Linguist List (http://www.linguistlist.org)

Yamada Language Center (http://babel.uoregon.edu/yamada/guides.html) lists 115 languages, alphabetically, geographically or by family. Lots of links beyond languages to literature, culture and history.

Literature Resources

Antologia (frammentaria) della Letteratura Italiana http://www.crs4.it/HTML/Literature.html

Athena Textes Francais
http://un2sg1.unige.ch/www/athena/html/francaut.html

BUBL Link (http://bubl.ac.uk/link/)links to Internet resources grouped by subject.

Electronic Text Center (http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/uvaonline.html) at the University of Virginia has an on-line archive of thousands of electronic texts. Includes French and German.

Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature (http://www.lib.virginia.edu/wess/etexts.html) lists Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English.

German Server (http://www.public.asu.edu/~atrjap) a guide to German-related links on the Internet

German Studies Trails on the Web http://www.uncg.edu/~lixlpurc/german_WWW/index.html#language_and_culture

Internet resources on Central and Eastern Europe and Russia http://www.ssees.ac.uk/index.htm#general

Literary Resources -- Other National Literatures http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/other.html

REESWeb: Russian and East European Studies (http://www.ucis.pitt.edu/reesweb/) Internet Resources, Language and Literature Resources

Russian Literature links from Berkeley
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/Collections/Slavic/ejourn.html#lit

Voice of the Shuttle (http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2719) offers links to literatures, grouped by language.

Poems

To locate poems in foreign languages on the Web, also see the UB Libraries guide Locating Poems.
Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility