return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Tiffany Walsh

Last Updated: 13 Nov 2006






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Ethnic Studies > Native American Studies


Native American Studies

This guide leads to sources in Lockwood Library and the Undergraduate Library. Ask a librarian at any reference desk for further assistance with your research.

  • Finding Books
  • Finding Articles
  • Finding Websites

Finding Books

Search in the UB Libraries Catalog to locate books on your topic. For searching tips, consult UB Libraries Web Catalog Help. Note the library location and call number of the books you need.

There are four ways to search for books and other materials in the Catalog:

Keyword search American Indian and war
Title search bury my heart at wounded knee
Author search means russell

To perform a subject heading search, use the following as your search terms:

Indians of North America
Multiculturalism
Ethnicity
Seneca Nation

For further assistance in using subject headings, please consult the help page on this topic.

To browse in the book or reference collections for titles focusing on Native Americans, look for call numbers within the range: E 76.2 - E 99.

Research Guides

American Indian Studies: a Bibliographic Guide
LML Ref E 77 .W55 1995

Indians of North America: Methods and Sources for Library Research
LML Book & LML Ref E 77 .H37 1983

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Directories, & Handbooks

America's Ancient Treasures: a Guide to Archeological Sites and Museums in the United States and Canada.
LML Ref E 56 .F64 1993

Chronology of Native North American History; from pre-Columbian times to the present.
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 77 .C555 1994

A Concise Dictionary of Indian Tribes of North America
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 76.2 .L44

Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume.
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 98 .C8P37 1994

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions.
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 98 .R3 H73 2000

Encyclopedia of North American Indians.
LML Ref E 76.2 .E53 1996.

Everyday Life Among the American Indians.
UGL Ref E98.S7 M68 2001.

From Savage to Nobleman: Images of Native Americans in Film.
LML Ref & UGL Book PN 1995.9 I48 H55 1995

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 184 .A1G14 1995

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 77 G15 1998

Handbook of North American Indians
LML Book, LML Ref & UGL Ref E 76.2 .H36

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 184 .A1H35

Historical Dictionary of North American Archaeology
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 77.9 .H57 1988

Indian Reservations: a State and Federal Handbook
LML Ref E 93 .I3828 1986

Native America in the Twentieth Century: an Encyclopedia
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 76.2 .N36 1994

The Native American Almanac: a Portrait of Native America Today
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 77 .H59 1993

Native Americans Information Directory
LML Book & UGL Ref E 76.2 .N37

The Native North American Almanac: a Reference Work on Native North Americans in the United States and Canada
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 77 .N37 1994

Native North American Literature
UGL Ref PS 508.I5 N38 1994

Notable Native Americans
UGL Ref E 93 T55 1996

Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian
UGL Ref E 76.2 K53 1998 / LML Ref E76.2 .R4 1993

The Rights of Indians and Tribes: the Basic ACLU Guide to Indian and Tribal Rights
LML Book & LML Ref KF 8210 .C5P48 1992

Statistical Record of Native Americans
UGL Ref E 98.P76 1993

Word Dance: the Language of Native American Culture
LML Ref & UGL E 76.2 .W36 1994

Biographies

The Biographical Dictionary of Native American Painters
LML Ref E 54.5 .L47 1995

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
BISON - Online Resources
LML CD-ROM Area
LML Ref Z5305.U5.B56

Native American Women: a Biographical Dictionary
LML Ref E 98 .W8 B38 2001 & UGL Ref E 98 .W8 B38 1993

Native American Writers of the United States
LML Ref PS 128 .D5 V.175

Who was Who in Native American History: Indians and Non-Indians from Early Contacts through 1900.
LML Ref E 89 .W35 2001

Atlases

Atlas of Ancient America
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 61 .A88 1986

Atlas of Great Lakes Indian History
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 78 .G7A87 1987

Atlas of the North American Indian
LML Ref & UGL Ref E 77 .W195 2000

Bibliographies/Catalogs

American Indian Women: a Guide to Research
LML Ref Z 1209.2 .N67 B36 1991

Author and Subject Catalogues of the Tozzer Library: Formerly the Library of the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, Harvard University.
Media Center MicFiche Z 5119 .T69 1988

Bibliographic Guide to Anthropology and Archaeology (annual update to the Tozzer Catalogue)
LML Ref Z 5111 B47

Dictionary Catalog of the Edward E. Ayer Collection of Americana and American Indians in the Newberry Library
LML (In Storage) Z 1201 .N45

Ethnographic Bibliography of North America
LML Ref Z 1209 .M8 1975 (+ Supplements)
Contains citations to monographs, essays, journal articles and dissertations on Native North American history, life and culture.

Images of American Indians on film: an annotated bibliography
LML Ref & UGL Ref PN 1995.9 .I48 B388 1985

Return to Top




Finding Articles

For relevant databases, please consult Resources by Subject - Ethnic Studies.

To browse some print journals, please see the following:

Akwesasne Notes
LML Per E 75 .A39

American Indian Culture and Research Journal
LML Per E 75 .A5124

American Indian Quarterly
LML Per E 75 .A547

Ethnohistory
LML Per E 51 .E8

Native Americas
LML Per E 75 .I49

For searching tips on finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, consult the Locating Magazine and Journal Articles guide.

Return to Top




Finding Websites

There are many Internet sites covering the topic of Native Americans. These sites often lead to others.

American Indian Data-- from the U.S. Census Bureau

Index of Native American Resources on the Internet

Native American Authors--An IPL Bibliographic Project

Native American Links - Listing of over 400 Native American-related links

Native American Sites

Native American Studies--Yale University

Native Web - Resources for Indigenous Cultures Around the World

Smithsonian Institution National Museum of the American Indian

Smithsonian: Native American History and Culture

University at Buffalo - Center for the Americas

For searching and evaluating tips, consult How to Find What You Want on the WWW and Thinking Critically about Discipline-Based WWW Resources.

Return to Top





return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility