PDA Reference Library
This page describes the various platforms of handheld computers currently available, and the main producers of these products. We do not endorse any of the products or services provided by the companies listed here. The material presented here is to help you to determine what is available and to assist in selecting the machine that serves your needs.
The market is developing rapidly with many new machines, software, applications, and capabilities (such as wireless and telecommunications). Many other producers and suppliers of hardware, software, and accessories exist. If you come across links or other materials that should be here, contact David J. Bertuca.
News and Developments
- Read the Latest News for Palm powered systems (from Access Co.).
- PDA Resources page. Has links to news articles and information on the variety of equipment that is available or being developed.
- PalmOne has PDA/phone combinations. Visit their Treo Store for details.
Palm OS Computers
- Palm Computing
Original developer of higher powered personal handheld computing devices. Site has everything for Palm users, plus products for Palm OS users with devices from third party developers. The Palm site includes support, software upgrades, documentation, and links to related sites. Note: Handspring is now part of Palm and can be found under PalmOne. - Audiovox
Palm OS PDAs. More items are at their Home page. - Casio Personal PC
PDAs for several platforms. Also has Pocket Viewers running the Casio OS. - Fossil Tech
Runs Palm OS and you wear it on your wrist. - PalmOne (formerly Handspring).
A major third party developer. Uses Palm OS and software. Site shows hardware and software, plus links to companies producing related equipment and software. - Handmark
Professionally produced databases, games, many other products. Also free submitted databases and other downloads. Some sections are:- Palm Productivity Guide
- MobileDB Database Archive
- Mobile Lists software. Converts MS-Access, Filemaker, Excel data to Palm OS format
- Palm OS Software list. Lots of software in many categories.
- Pocket PC Software . For Pocket PC users.
- Access Company
(formerly Palm Source). All sorts of resources for Palm users and developers. Has products, downloads, e-books, etc. - Sony Clié
Palm OS compatible system with improvements and enhancements over earlier Palm and other PDAs. Has many nice features. - Handango
Third party developer for Handspring products. Over 15,000 products. One popular product is Vindigo. Also has software for Casio and other PDAs. - MemoWear
Software for downloads. Includes Handmark databases, many categories. - Amazon Handheld Devices
Check for discounts on all handhelds and accessories. - PDAStreet.com
lists products, news, and reviews of hardware, software, and other resources for all brands of PDAs. Arranged by make. Offers free stuff and chance to get reviews and comments from users. Also includes Pocket PC.
Pocket PC Type Handheld
- UB Pocket PC Wireless VPN Support
- Casio Personal PC
Has PDAs for several platforms. Click here for their Pocket PC listing. - Dell Pocket PCs
- Hewlett Packard Handheld Computers
Includes the Jornada models, and Compaq handhelds. These are high-powered, PC-like computers and differ from the Palm OS PDA-type machines.A new form of handheld is the Tablet PC . - Microsoft Pocket PC
There is also a page that shows all the current Pocket PC devices from different makers. Several additional pages that are useful are:- Comparison of Pocket PCs . A table of features
- Comparison of the Most Rugged Pocket PCs . More durable machines for rough handling.
- Comparison of Pocket PC and Palm Operating system
- NEC
Product information, support, documentation, and links to other products. As the market expands, more diversified models will probably be added. Pocket PC City . Locate hardware and software, download files and applications. Zaurus Pocket PC by Sharp. Toshiba . Descriptions of the models available, support and other materials
Tablet PC
RIM Handheld
- Research in Motion
Main company for RIM hardware, software, and accessories. - Blackberry
Related company for RIM hardware, software, and accessories. Blackberry is predominantly a wireless e-mail product system. - RIM BlackBerry Developer Resources
Dealer in all equipment plus developer tools. Site has hardware, software, reviews, news, and comments. Also has sections on other handheld platforms. - RIM Road
Find hardware, software, reviews, news, and comments by users. Includes downloads.
Comparing Platforms
Below are brief descriptions of the four major handheld platforms (the Palm and Pocket PC being the most common). For a complete discussion, with tables, read the document: Handheld Devices: Comparing the Major Platforms (Dell White Paper, December 2000). An html version of this document is also available. Microsoft's compares platforms at its Web site: comparison of Pocket PC and Palm Operating systems.PDAGeek at Geek.com provides independent reviews, opinions, and other materials on all PDA platforms. Included are comments, both good and bad (i.e., the PDA Horror Stories or Tips and Tricks pages). There is also an online newsletter. If you wish to compare features, prices, and other variables, go to Dealtime.com's Personal Organizers page.
Note: Processor speed and RAM size cannot be compared between PDA platforms, nor can they be compared to standard microcomputers, in terms of their computing capabilities. Do not rank machines based on these features (except within the same platform).
Palm: uses the Palm operating system, and has the largest installed base of PDA users. Designed specifically for mobile information management, the core application set is mainly PIM applications. The platform optimizes ease of use, size, battery life, and portability . Software memory utilization is very efficient and Palm applications use significantly less memory and power than similar applications on other platforms. Current products based on the Palm platform typically have a small screen (monochrome or color), a low-MHz processor (16 MHz), and 8-16 MB of memory. These products are also the lightest and smallest available in the market and have the longest battery life .
Pocket PC: uses the Windows CE operating system, a version of Microsoft Windows designed for handheld PCs. This software is similar to the Windows-family user interface, with broad functionality and expansion options. Windows CE is a 32-bit operating system that shares development tools with other Windows platforms. "The goal of the Pocket PC platform is to create an extensible platform that can be used to run standard personal information management (PIM) software and to create integrated custom business applications. Pocket PC devices run a variety of PIM applications included in a "pocket" version of Microsoft Outlook® . Pocket Outlook provides address book, contacts, calendar, mail, and task lists. In addition, Microsoft has developed pocket versions of Internet Explorer, Word, Excel, and the Windows Media Player, which enables devices to be used as MP3 players and e-book readers." The Pocket PC uses the most powerful processors of the four platforms and typically has 16-32 MB of memory. These machines require more power to run and battery life is much shorter than for Palm handhelds.
Symbian EPOC: originated out of a consortium led by Psion PLC, in conjunction with a number of wireless companies, including Ericsson, Nokia, and Motorola. EPOC devices have three configurations: a tablet PC, a smart phone, and a PDA device. The PDA platform has been adopted primarily in Europe on Psion devices. These handhelds have a distinctive clamshell design and include a very small, integrated keyboard. They run PIM applications, as well as Web browser and word processor applications. Current implementations use an ARM processor and typically have 8-16 MB of memory.
RIM Blackberry: (Research in Motion). This platform is developing rapidly and is the leader in wireless communications at present. The RIM Blackberry model 957 was the only RIM device that was comparable to the other handheld devices, but as of summer 2002, this is not true. RIM Blackberry devices are wireless data devices with integrated PIM functionality. They are designed for use on wireless packet data networks that are typically limited to short message sizes. RIM Blackberry devices evolved from pager technology and are specialized for two-way messaging and email. They also provide limited Web access and some PIM applications. These devices have a small monochrome display, rechargeable lithium battery, Intel® 386 processor, and, typically, 5 MB of memory. Read an independent review of the Model 957 . Go to the RIM Platform resources section above for the most current information.
Web Resources
- Computing Unplugged . A Web e-zine for PDA users and how they can make the most of their systems.
- Tips and Tricks For Using Your Palm With AOL . Includes links to:
- How to Use E-Mail with your Palm . Also has how to Web surf with a Palm.
- Palm Emulator (from Palm Source ), for testing software that you create for your PDA
- PDA Toolbox . All sorts of resources for your Palm OS machine, including downloads.
- Tools For Making E Texts
- Enhancement Software List , with explanations on how to use each product.
- Must Have Software List . Essentail Freeware, Shareware, and Software.
- PDA Resources on the Web . A comprehensive list for PDA users. All aspects covered. Includes a long list of e-book and text download sites.
- PDA Resources page. (Lyman Maynard Stowe Library at the University of Connecticut Health Center). Contains resources of all sorts. While main focus is medical/health related, there are many resources for other disciplines as well.This site also has links to articles on choosing a PDA, how to use PDAs and accessories, and other topics of general interest.
- PDA Street General List of PDAs by type. This page has resources and products for ANY type of PDA. These are listed for ease of selection. Includes even older PDAs (e.g., Apple Newton).
- e-Books Category List . Subject list of e-books arranged by subject, author, title.
- MobiPocket.com also has other resources on their Web site.
- Educator's PDA Resources . PDA Resources for Educators lists sources for hardware, software, and accessories to be used by teachers, though the list is a good general list for anyone.
- Beyond the Four Functions: Academic Uses for PDA . Pdf with links, describes ways that Institutions, faculty and students can use PDAs for research and classroom.
- Humanities e-Books at MobiPocket.com.
- Library PDA Resources . A listing of available Palm Reader files in Academics. Download free reader and files here
- Guide to Medical Software for Handheld Computers . By the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.
- Medical and Other PDA Resources . Stowe Library, UCONN. Has a variety of resources, primarily for medical/clinical use, but also covers other fields.
- MemoWare . Find downloadable software for a variety of applications. Some is Free, some Shareware or Pay. Covers many fields and topics.
- Planet PDA . Offers conferences, news and events info, links to resources of many kinds. Also has links to training programs. Visit the TablePC Newsletter Archives for articles on how the new technology is being used in a variety of professions.
- Pocket PC City . (Pocket PC) Locate hardware and software, download files and applications.
- Science & Technology Resources for your PDA . University of Alberta Web site. Provides links to subject specific resources. Includes:
- Current Awareness Resources links. For news, topical information services, and even TV broadcasts to your PDA. Subjects include most science areas and medical.
- WiFi Revolution (newsletter). Has breaking news and product information on this wireless technolog
- Programming and Database Conversion
- Expand and Beyond. Developers of IT software to use for making PDA resources from Oracle, SQL, Unix, and other software/devices.
- Internet File Converter for PDAs. Convert any URL to a .doc file for use on PDA.
- PDA: Data conversion. This page is intended to provide information for PDA users wishing to convert their data to another format.









