return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Periodicals by Type


Periodicals by Type

For a complete listing of magazines, journals and newspapers and to determine if it is academic, scholarly or refereed check out, Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory. For information on how to locate an article, see Finding Articles.

Types Scholarly and Research Journals Professional and Trade Journals Journals of Commentary and Opinion Newspapers/ Magazines Popular Magazines Sensational Publications
Examples American Anthropologist, Sociological Review, Child Development RN, Restaurant Business, Automotive News Mother Jones, Commonweal, America Time, Newsweek, Business Week, New York Times Sports Illustrated, Vogue, Field and Stream National Enquirer, Globe, Star
Contents Original research reports and substantial review articles; usually are peer reviewed or refereed. Articles on current trends and events in a field or industry. Often provide information about specific companies and industry/field statistics. Commentary on current social and political issues. A given publication often reflects a certain bias (see Journals of Commentary and Opinion page). News articles on topics of general interest. Articles on a wide range of topics, including sports, fashion, famous people, and entertainment. In general, articles are short and at a basic reading level. Sensational/outrageous articles written in a quasi-newsjournal style. For entertainment purposes only; validity is dubious at best.
Language Assume familiarity with the terminology of the discipline. Assume familiarity with the terminology of the industry. Written for a general educated audience. Written for a general educated audience. Written for a general audience in non-technical language. Written for a general audience in simple language.
Authors Scholars and Researchers. Journalists with subject expertise. Specialists, scholars, members of the sponsoring organization, or other interested parties. Staff or freelance journalists. Staff or freelance journalists. Staff or freelance writers.
Sources Footnotes and references; often extensive documentation. Full documentation not always given. Variable; full documentation not always given. Sources not usually cited. Sources not usually cited. Sources rarely cited.
Publishers Universities, research institutes, scholarly presses, and professional organizations. Professional associations or commercial publishers. Nonprofit organizations or commercial publishers. Commercial publishers. Commercial publishers. Commercial publishers.
Graphics Graphs, charts and tables. Charts, tables, illustrations, and photographs. Variable. Charts and photographs. Many illustrations and photographs. Many photographs; may be retouched.
Advertising The more general journals have selective advertising. Ads related to the industry. Variable. Many ads. Many ads. Many ads.
Access Tools Specialized indexes (eg. PsycINFO , Physics Abstracts , MLA Bibliography , etc.) Ask a librarian for assistance in selecting the best one. Business and specialized indexes (e.g. ABI/Inform , Business Index ). General and some specialized indexes (e.g. Academic Search Premier). General and newspaper indexes (e.g. Factiva ). General indexes (e.g. Readers' Guide , Factiva ). Indexes not generally available.



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility