Religious Studies
This guide provides sources that will assist you in beginning research in the University at Buffalo Undergraduate Library (UGL) and Lockwood Memorial Library (LML) concerning religious studies. This is not an exhaustive guide, but a mechanism for starting research and how to find related sources.
Finding Books
The Library Catalog
Search BISON - UB Libraries Catalog , to find books on this topic. Please note the library location and call number for the titles that interest you. You may search by:
- Title - Be Not Afraid
- Author - Wilkes Paul
- Keyword - Islam and women
Also, you may perform a search by Subject Heading , which are provided by the Library of Congress. The Finding Books guide will aid you in determining proper subject headings. Relevant headings include
Religions Practical Theology Buddhism Worship Christianity Ecclesiastical Theology Bible Christian Denominations Doctrinal Theology Catholic Church To browse in the book or reference collections for titles focusing on world religions, or a specific religion, please focus on books with call numbers ranging from BL-BX.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and other Reference Sources
General Religion
The Continuum Dictionary of Religion
LML Reference BL31.C67 1994
Dictionary of Ecclesiastical Terms
LML Reference BR95.P8
Dictionary of Mysticism
LML Reference BL31.G32The Dictionary of Religious Terms
LML Reference BL31.K34
Dictionary of Third World Theologies
UGL Reference BR95.D486 2000
The Encyclopedia of American Religions and Religious Creeds
LML and UGL Reference BT990.E58 1988
Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities
UGL Reference BL 782.C67 2000
The Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism
LML Reference BL501.E53 2000Encyclopedia of Creation Myths
UGL Reference BL 325.C7 L44 1994Encyclopedia of Religion
UGL Reference BL31.E46 1987The Facts on File Dictionary of Religions
LML Reference BL31.F33 1984History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition
UGL Reference BL245.H57 2000The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
UGL Reference BL31.O84 1997Theological Dictionary
LML Reference BR95.R313World Religions: The Great Faiths Explored & Explained
UGL Reference BL82.B68 1997The World Treasure of Religious Quotations
LML Reference BK.BK29.W6Christianity
A Dictionary of Christian Theology
LML Reference BR95.R47The Encyclopedia of Christianity
LML Reference BR95.E8913 1999Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
LML and UGL Reference BR157.W67 2001Encyclopedia of Religion in the South
LML Reference BR535.E32 1984The Encyclopedia of Saints
LML Reference BX 4655.8 G85 2001The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
LML and UGL Reference BR95.O8 1997World Christian Encyclopedia: A Comparative Study of Churches and Religions in the Modern World
LML Reference BR157.W67 2001Christian Denominations
The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History
LML and UGL Reference BX 1406.2.E53 1997Handbook of Denominations in the United States
LML and UGL Reference BR 516.5 H28The HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism
UGL Book Collection BX 841.H37 1995Historical Dictionary of the Baptists
UGL Reference BX6211.B73 1999New Catholic Encyclopedia
LML Reference BX 841.N44 2003Islam
Concise Encyclopedia of Islam
LML Reference BP40.C66 2001Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
LML Reference BP40.E525 2004, and electronicallyEncyclopedia of Islamic Doctrine
LML Reference BP166.K33 1998The Muslim Almanac: A Reference Work on the History, Faith, Culture, and Peoples of Islam
UGL Reference BP40.M83 1996The New Encyclopedia of Islam
UGL Reference BP40.G42 2001The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
LML and UGL Reference DS35.53.O95 2001A Popular Dictionary of Islam
LML Reference BP40.N48 1992Buddhism
Buddhism for Dummies
UGL Book Collection BL 4022.L36 2003The Complete Guide to Buddhist America
UGL Reference BQ724.C65 1998A Dictionary of Buddhism
UGL Reference BQ 130.K46 2003Encyclopedia of Buddhism
LML Reference BQ 128.E62 2004A Modern Buddhist Bible: Essential Readings From East to West
UGL Reference BQ4302.M63 2002Hinduism
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Hinduism
UGL Book Collection BL 2007.7.J64 2002The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism,Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
UGL Book Collection BL 1005.L4813 1994Handbook of Hindu Mythology
LML Book Collection BL 1111.4.W55 2003Other Non-Christian Religions
Dictionary of Non-Christian Religions
LML Book Collection BL31.P36 1981Dictionary of Pagan Religions
LML Reference BL31.W4Eastern Definitions: A Short Encyclopedia of Religions in the Orient
LML Reference BL31.E24New Age Encyclopedia
LML and UGL Reference BP605.N48 M45 1990Religion and Philosophy
Dictionary of Religion and Philosophy
LML Reference BL31.M23 1989Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics
LML Reference BL31.E4 1961Religion and Media
Give Me That Online Religion
LML Book Collection BL37.B73 2001The Soul of Cyberspace: How New Technology is Changing our Spiritual Lives
LML Book Collection BL37.Z35 1997Women and Religion
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion
LML and UGL Reference BL458.E53 1999Sacred Texts
The Bible
The Jerusalem Bible
LML and UGL Reference and Book Collections BS195.J4King James Bible
Available through Literature Online.New American Standard Bible
UGL Reference BS195. N35 1975The Koran
The Koran
UGL Reference BP109.R6 1978The Qur'an
LML Book Collection BL1010.S3 v.6Commentaries, Companions and Concordances
The Bible
The Bible Companion
UGL Reference BS417.B44 1985The Eerdmans Bible Dictionary
UGL Reference BS440.G7613Nelson's Complete Concordance of the New American Bible
LML Reference BS425.N36The New Strong's Exhaustive Concordance to the Bible
UGL Reference BS425.S84 1996The Oxford Companion to the Bible
LML and UGL Reference BS440.M434Roget's Thesaurus of the Bible
LML and UGL Reference BS432.D38 1992The Koran
Companion to the Qur'an
LML Book Collection BP130.4.W34The Complete Idiot's Guide to the Koran
UGL Book Collection BP130.S27 2003The Essential Koran: The Heart of Islam: An Introductory Selection of Readings From the Qur'an
UGL Reference BP110 1994Introduction to the Qur'an
LML Book Collection BP130.D73 2000The Qur'an and its Interpreters
LML Book Collection BP130.4.A835 1984The Qur'an: The First American Version - Translation and Commentary
LML Book Collection BP110.I78 1985Maps
Atlas of American Religion: The Denominational Era, 1776-1990
LML Reference BR515.N49 2000Atlas of the World's Religions
LML and UGL Reference BL85.A84 1999Geographical Companion to the Bible
LML Book Collection BS630.B338Historical Atlas of the Religions of the World
LML and UGL Reference BL80.2.F28Macmillan Bible Atlas
UGL Reference G2230.A2 1993New Historical Atlas of Religion in America
LML Reference G1201.E4 N4 2000Religions on File
LML Reference BL82.R45 1990World Christian Encyclopedia: A Comparative Study of Churches and Religions in the Modern World, A.D. 1900-2000
LML and SCI/ENG Map Room Reference Oversize BR95.W67 1982Sacred Music *
Hymnal Collections of North America
Music Library Reference ML136.A1 S35 2003The Hymnal Reference Manual: An Index of Hymns, Hymntunes, Keys, Scripture References, Classifications and Key Words
Music Library Reference BV305 R39* For further assistance in locating sources on, or items of, religious music, please inquire at the reference desk of the Music Library, located in Baird Hall.
Finding Articles
Databases
For database recommendations, please visit the Resources by Subject page and click on the Philosophy and Religion pages.
Journals
If you wish to browse through some relevant journals, the following are available in print, and are located in the Lockwood Library Periodical Collection, on the third floor.
Christianity Today
LML Per. BR1.C6418
Journal of Religion
LML Per. BR1.J65
Religion
LML Per. BL1.R37
Religion and Literature
LML Per. PR1.N6
Religious Studies
LML Per. BL1.R43
Religious Studies News
LML Per. BL1.C65. Coverage until 1999 only.
Sociology of Religion
LML Per. HN30.A64For electronic journal browsing * , please see:
Culture and Religion
http://taylorandfrancis.metapress.com/link.asp?id=300339Journal of Buddhist Ethics
http://jbe.gold.ac.uk/Journal of Contemporary Religion
http://www.ingentaselect.com/rpsv/cw/carfax/13537903/contp1.htmJournal of Religion in Africa
http://www.ingentaselect.com/rpsv/cw/brill/00224200/contp1.htmJournal of ReligiousThought
http://iibp.chadwyck.com/toc/TheJournalofReligiousThought/issues.htmThe Journal of Southern Religion
http://jsr.as.wvu.edu/* Off-campus access to electronic journals is restricted to current UB students, faculty and staff. It is possible to access the Libraries resources by using UB as your Internet Service Provider (ISP) or through a third-party ISP. For login information, see Off-Campus Access to Libraries Resources.
For more journal titles, perform a BISON subject heading search for:
Religion-periodicals
Theology-periodicals
Religion and culture-periodicalsBook Reviews
To locate reviews of books of a religious nature, the following will be helpful:
Index to Book Reviews in Religion
LML Reference (Index Area) Z7753.A52. Coverage from 1986-1995.EBSCOhost MasterFILE
Search using the title of the work, enclosed in quotes, as a keyword.
Finding Websites
The following are web sites selected for their pertinence:
The Catholic Encyclopedia
http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/The Hindu Universe
http://www.hindunet.org/The Islam Page
http://www.islamworld.net/Internet Sacred Text Archive
http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htmThe Peace Encyclopedia
http://www.yahoodi.com/peace/Religions of the World
http://emuseum.mnsu.edu/cultural/religion/index.shtmlTo search for relevant pages on your own, consult the Internet Search Engines page for appropriate pages on which to conduct your search.









