return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 

ben wagner

Guide created by:
Ben Wagner

Last Update:
30 June, 2008






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Browse by Topic - Properties Data > Spectra and Spectral Data


Spectra & Spectral Data   

A guide to reference sources. * Indicates actual spectra.

General Sources

* Atlas of spectral data and physical constants for organic compounds
2d ed. Cleveland : CRC Press, <1975>
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD257.7 .G7 1975 v.1-v.6
Tabular condensation of spectral data from numerous published collections. Vol 1 contains name/synonym directory, structures, and spectroscopic aids; vols. 2-4 contain data tables; vols 5-6 have indexes of molecular weight, physical constants, WLNs, mass spectra, Raman, etc.

Dictionary of organic compounds <CD-ROM>.
London : Chapman & Hall Chemical Database
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference CD-ROM QD246 .D5
References to the literature only.

Dictionary of spectroscopy / R.C. Denney
2nd ed. New York : Wiley, c1982
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC450.3 .D46 1982
Brief explanations of terms most frequently used.

Encyclopedia of analytical chemistry: applications, theory, and instrumentation / Robert A. Meyers. New York: Wiley, 2000.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD71.5.E52 2000
Extensive review chapters. Vol. 1-10 has chapters by type of substance (i.e. pesticides). Vol. 11-15 has chapters by analytical technique.

Encyclopedia of spectroscopy / Heinz-Helmut Perkampus
Weinheim ; New York : VCH, 1995.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC450.3 .P47 1995
General illustrated definitions of concepts and techniques

Handbook of spectroscopy
Cleveland : CRC Press, c1974.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QD95 .H27 v.1-2.
Tables of data and references of available data in various fields of spectroscopy. Each volume is indexed separately.

* KnowItAll Informatics System Academic Edition
Free download at: http://www.knowitall.com/academic. Free software package includes applications for drawing 3D structures, creating reports with imported structures and spectra, processing of NMR, IR, and Raman spectra, predicting and simulating proton NMR spectra, analyzing functional groups, symmetry, and point groups, and accessing the Sadtler Handbook of Infrared Spectroscopy .

Molecular spectra and molecular structure / Gerhard Herzberg
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC451 .H379 v.1-4.
Classic treatise.

* NIST Chemistry Webbook
http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
IR spectra for over 7500 compounds, Mass spectra for over 10,000 compounds, UV/Vis spectra for over 400 compounds, Electronic and vibrational spectra for over 3000 compounds.

Properties of organic compounds <CD-ROM>
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference CD-ROM QD255.5 .E4 P76.
Corresponds to the print Handbook of data on organic compounds (HODOC)
Major data collection of names, synonyms, structures, formulas, physical constants, spectral data references: (IR, Raman, NMR, UV, Mass) CAS Registry Numbers, Beilstein references.

* Sadtler collections
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC453 S28.
Housed in green bound volumes or loose leaf binders, Sadtler is our most extensive set of actual spectra covering IR, NMR, and UV. There are alphabetical, molecular formula, chemical class, and chemical weight indexes, and supplements. Properties of Organic Compounds CD-ROM also gives Sadtler references.

* SDBS Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds
http://www.aist.go.jp/RIODB/SDBS/cgi-bin/cre_index.cgi
downloadable spectra ; Compound Dictionary (30,000 compounds);
MS (ca 19,600 spectra); 13C NMR (ca 11,000 spectra);
1H NMR (ca 13,500 spectra); ESR (ca 2,000 spectra);
IR (ca 47,300 spectra); Raman (ca 3,500 spectra)

* Sigma-Aldrich On-line Product Catalog
http://www.sigmaaldrich.com/Area_of_Interest/The_Americas/United_States.html
Provides FT-NMR, FT-IR, and FT-Raman IR for many of their products.

Spectrometric identification of organic compounds / Robert M. Silverstein
6th ed. New York : Wiley, 1998.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QD272 .S6 S55 1998
Basic text. Older editions back to 1967 also available, but may be checked out.

Tables of spectral data for structure determination of organic compounds
Berlin ; New York : Springer-Verlag, c1989
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC462.85 .T313 1989
Covers C-13 NMR, Proton NMR, IR, Mass, and UV/Vis spectra.

Thermodynamic Research Center (TRC) Selected Spectral Data and API-44 spectra [a special project of the TRC for the American Petroleum Institute (API)] include substances that are principally hydrocarbons and their oxygen, halogen, sulfur and nitrogen derivatives. The set includes IR, Mass, Rmana, UV, proton NMR, and C-13 NMR spectra. The NMR collections also contain data covering silicon substances. A few organometallic and organophosphorus compounds are included. Use the electronic TRC Comprehensive Index CD-ROM workstation in UGL/SEL Reference area to determine if a compound is covered in the TRC or API-44 spectral collections.

* USGS Digital Spectral Library
http://speclab.cr.usgs.gov/spectral-lib.html
Contains 800+ UV/Near-IR spectra of minerals, mixtures, artificial, liquids and volatiles and vegetation, each with documentation.

Return to Top


divider



Infrared Spectra (IR)

* Aldrich library of FT-IR spectra / Charles J. Pouchert
Milwaukee, Wis. : Aldrich Chemical Co., c1985. 2 v
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD96.I5 P66 1985
Condensed phase IR spectra, arranged by chemical class and complexity. Indexes:name, molecular formula, CAS registry number. 11,000 compounds.

* Aldrich library of infrared spectra / Charles J. Pouchert
2d ed. Milwaukee : Aldrich Chemical Co., c1975.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .P65 1975
Alphabetical and MF indexes

* API-44 Selected infrared spectral data. Tables
Washington, D.C.: American Petroleum Institute Research Project 44
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T728 serial no.1-serial no.3650

* Atlas of polymer and plastics analysis
Munich : Hanser ; Weinheim ; Deerfield Beach, Fla. : Verlag Chemie, 1978-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD139 .P6 H8 1978
Primarily infrared spectra.

Characteristic frequencies of chemical groups in the infra- red.
Amsterdam, New York, Elsevier Pub. Co., 1963.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC457 .F53

* Coblentz Society desk book of infrared spectra
2nd ed. Kirkwood, MO (P.O. Box 9952, Kirkwood 63122) : The Society, 1982, c1977
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .C687 1982
IR grating spectra of 1700 compounds.

* Handbook of infrared and Raman spectra of inorganic compounds and organic salts
San Diego : Academic Press, c1997. V.1-4
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .N93 1997

Index of vibrational spectra of inorganic and organometallic compounds
London, Butterworths, 1972-<1977>
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC453 .G742 v.3.
25,000 compounds, IR and Raman, spectra not included

* Infrared (2.1-25 um) spectra of minerals / John W. Salisbury
Baltimore : John Hopkins University Press, 1991.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QE369 .S65 I538 1991

Infrared absorption spectra; index.
New York : Academic Press
1945/57-1958/62
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Z7144.S7 I6
36,000 references for organic and inorganic compounds, chemical substance index, spectra not included.

Infrared and Raman spectra of inorganic and coordination compounds
New York : Wiley, c1997. 5 th ed.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QD96.I5 N33 1997 Parts A&B

Infrared band handbook
New York, Plenum Press, 1963.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .S98 1963
27,000 bands, spectra not included

Infrared and Raman characteristic group frequencies: tables and charts
Chichester : J. Wiley, 3rd ed., 2001.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457... - On order as of 9/9/2004.

* Infrared spectra and characteristic frequencies 700-300 cm-1
New York, Interscience <1968>
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .B49 1968
collection of 1566 organic and inorganic spectra, interpretation, and bibliography

* Infrared spectra handbook of priority pollutants and toxic chemicals
Philadelphia, Pa. : Sadtler Research Laboratories, c1982.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .I527 1982

* Interpreted infrared spectra
New York, Plenum Press, 1964-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QD95 .S97 v.1-v.3

* MCA Selected infrared spectral data.
Pittsburgh : Manufacturing Chemists' Association Research Project
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T729 serial no.1 (1959:Dec.31)-serial no.1530 (1983:June 30)

* Merck FT-IR Atlas : eine Sammlung von FT-IR Spektren = a collection of FT-IR spectra
Weinheim (Federal Republic of Germany) ; New York : VCH, c1987-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .M473 1988

* Rapra Collection of Infrared Spectra of Rubbers, Plastics, and Thermoplastic Elastomers (2nd Edition)
http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=397
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC463 .P5.S53 1997
Transmission and pyrolysate spectra of a comprehensive range of technically important rubber and plastic materials.

* Sadtler agricultural chemicals
2-15 microns, 4600 IR absorption spectra, grating and prism
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC453 S28 AGRI CHEM vol. 1-3

* Sadtler high resolution spectra of inorganics and related compounds
Philadelphia <1965-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .S28 v1-5.
1300 IR grating spectra

* Sadtler infrared grating spectra
2-15 microns 38,000 IR grating spectra
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC453 S28 GRATING SPECTRA vol 1-38

* Sadtler infrared prism spectra
2-15 microns 49,000 IR prism spectra
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC453 S28 INFRARED PRISM vol. 1-48

Tables of molecular vibrational frequencies. Consolidated Volume 1.
Washington, National Bureau of Standards; U.S. Govt. Print. Off.,1972.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC100 .U573 no.39
Supersedes Tables of molecular vibrational frequencies , NSRDS-NBS-6, part 1; NSRDS-NBS-11, part 2; and NSRDS-NBS-17, part 3.

* Tabulation of infrared spectral data
New York : Wiley, c1977.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .D64

* TRC Spectral Data - Infrared
College Station, Tex: Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas A & M University System, 1985-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T73 v.1-v.6

Return to Top


divider



Mass Spectra (MS)

* API-44 Selected mass spectral data. Tables
Washington, D.C. : National Bureau of Standards
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T758 1976-1983

* Handbook of mass spectra of environmental contaminants
2nd ed. Boca Raton : Lewis Publishers, c1992.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR ReferenceTD193 .H57 1992

* EPA/NIH mass spectral data base
<Washington> : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Bureau of Standards, GPO, 1978-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC100 .U573 no.63 V.1-5
Supplements are on microfiche SCI/ENGR Microform Area US MicFiche C 13.48: 63
Data are entered by increasing molecular weight.

* Ion mass spectra
New York, Wiley <1974>
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC454.M3 W54

MassSpectator Online Calculator (NIST)
http://www.ctcms.nist.gov/%7Ewallace/MassSpectator_intro.html
Calculates the area beneath peaks from mass spectra

Mass spectral correlations
Washington, D.C. : American Chemical Society, 1982.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QD1 .A355 NO.40

Selected mass spectral data.
Pittsburgh : Carnegie Institute of Technology
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T759 v.1-v.2

* TRC spectral data - Mass
College Station, Tex: Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas A & M University System, 1985-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T76 v.1-v.5

* Wiley/NBS registry of mass spectral data
New York : Wiley, c1989.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC454.M3 M395 1989. V. 1-7.
A combination of the revisions of the following two books and their data base versions: Registry of mass spectral data by Einar Stenhagen, Sixten Abrahamsson, and Fred W. McLafferty; and
EPA/NIH mass spectral data base by S.R. Heller and G.W.A. Milne; and its two supplements
This edition is a little hard on the eyes, but contains more spectra.

Return to Top


divider



NMR Spectra -Proton

* Aldrich library of NMR spectra
Ed. 2. Milwaukee, Wis. (P.O. Box 355, Milwaukee 53201) : Aldrich Chemical Co., c1983. 2 v.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD96.N8 P68 1983
37,000 spectra indexed by name, molecular formula.

* Aldrich library of 13C and 1H FT NMR spectra
Milwaukee, Wis. : Aldrich Chemical Co., c1993. 3 v.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC454.F7 A4 1993
12,000 compounds, indexed by name, molecular formula, CAS reg. no

Annual Reports on NMR Spectroscopy
London; New York : Academic Press, 1968+
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC762.A46

* API-44 Selected nuclear magnetic resonance spectral data. 100 MHz
Thermodynamics Research Center API44 Hydrocarbon Project.
College Station, Texas : Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas
Engineering Experiment Station, Texas A&M University
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T768b serial no.1 (1968:April 30)-serial no.464 (1982:April 30)

Handbook of NMR spectral parameters : tabulated high resolution chemical shifts and coupling constants for organic compounds according to spin system
London : Philadelphia : Heyden, c1979
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC490 .B82 v.1-3

Handy and systematic catalog of NMR spectra : instruction through examples
Mill Valley, Calif. : University Science Books, c1980.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC762 .A94

NMR data on organic metal carbonyl complexes (1965-71) / P.W. Hickmott
Annual reports on NMR spectroscopy v. 6c, 1977.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC762 .A46
3000 compounds, by metal complex, then by ligands.

NMR data tables for organic compounds
New York, Interscience <1967-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC762 .B6 v.1

* NMRShiftDB
http://www.nmrshiftdb.org
Freely available content. Allows for spectrum prediction (currently only for carbon) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Currently, 13C, 1H, 15N and 31P NMR shift data can be stored.

* NMR spectra catalog
<Palo Alto> 1962-63. 2 v.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC762 .V27
chiefly tables, 700 charts.

Nuclear magnetic resonance spectra and chemical structure
v. 1. The spectral NMR parameters of compounds with analyzed spectra.
New York, Academic Press, 1967-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD476 .B78 (88 by compound name)

* Sadtler guide to NMR spectra
Philadelphia, Sadtler Research Laboratories, 1972.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC490 .S55

* Sadtler Nuclear magnetic resonance
24,000 spectra
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC453 S28 STANDARD NMR SPECTRA vol. 1-38

* TRC Selected nuclear magnetic resonance spectral data. 40 MHz, 60
MHz compliation
/ Thermodynamics Research Center Data Project.
College Station, Texas : Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas
Engineering Experiment Station, Texas A&M University
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T767b serial no.1 (1960:Dec.31)-serial no.1118 (1981:Dec.31)

* TRC Selected nuclear magnetic resonance spectral data. 100 MHz
Thermodynamics Research Center Data Project.
College Station, Texas : Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas
Engineering Experiment Station, Texas A&M University
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T768a Serial no.1 (1968:Dec.31)-serial no.735 (1982:Dec.31)

* TRC Selected nuclear magnetic resonance spectral data. 300 MHz
Thermodynamics Research Center Data Project.
College Station, Texas : Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas
Engineering Experiment Station, Texas A&M University
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T769 serial no.1 (1975:Dec.31)-serial no.345 (1984:Nov.30)

* TRC spectral data. ¹H NMR
College Station, Tex: Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas A & M University System, 1985-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T77 v.1-v.5

Return to Top


divider



NMR Spectra (Elements other than Hydrogen) [See also Biomolecules]

* Aldrich library of 13C and 1H FT NMR spectra
Milwaukee, Wis. : Aldrich Chemical Co., c1993. 3 v.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC454.F7 A4 1993
12,000 compounds, indexed by name, molecular formula, CAS registry number.

Annual Reports on NMR Spectroscopy
London; New York : Academic Press, 1968+
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC762.A46

* API-44 Selected ¹³C nuclear magnetic resonance spectral data.
[S.l.] : American Petroleum Institute Research Project 44
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T778 1976-1984. V. 1-3.

Atlas of carbon-13 NMR data
London ; Philadelphia : Heyden, 1979 3 v.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC462.C1 B73 1979
NMR data compiled from the literature (3000 )

* Carbon-13 NMR spectra; a collection of assigned, coded and indexed spectra
New York, Wiley-Interscience <1972>
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC462.C4 J64 (500 spectra)

Compilation of reported F 19 NMR chemical shifts, 1951 to mid-1967
New York, Wiley-Interscience <1970>
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC462.F5 D8 1970
4700 F-19 NMR data

Fluorine-19 NMR spectroscopy / V. Wray
Annual reports on NMR spectroscopy
v. 10b 1980
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC762 .A46
6000 F-19 NMR data

* NMRShiftDB
http://www.nmrshiftdb.org
Freely available content. Allows for spectrum prediction (currently only for carbon) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Currently, 13C, 1H, 15N and 31P NMR shift data can be stored.

* TRC spectral data. 13C NMR
College Station, Tex: Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas A & M University System, 1985-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T78 v.1-v.4

Return to Top


divider



Raman Spectra

* Handbook of infrared and Raman spectra of inorganic compounds and organic salts
San Diego : Academic Press, c1997. V.1-4
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC457 .N93 1997

Infrared and Raman spectra of inorganic and coordination compounds
New York : Wiley, c1986. 4 th ed.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QD96.I5 N33 1986

* MCA Selected Raman spectral data.
Pittsburgh : Manufacturing Chemists' Association Research
Project, Carnegie Institute of Technology
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T788 serial no.1-serial no.113

* Selected Raman spectral data.
Washington, D.C. : National Bureau of Standards
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T789 serial no.1-serial no.935

* TRC spectral data - Raman.
College Station, Tex: Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas A & M University System, 1985-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T79 v.1-v.4

Return to Top


divider



Ultraviolet and Visible Spectra

* Absorption spectra in the ultraviolet and visible region.
New York, Academic Press 1959-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC437 .L26 v.1-23
Indexes for each volume, and cumulative.

* API-44 Selected ultraviolet spectral data. Tables
Pittsburgh : Carnegie Institute of Technology
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T738 1975-1985. V. 1-4.

* Atlas of protein spectra in the ultraviolet and visible regions.
Vol 1: http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=1013
Vol. 2: http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=1014
New York, IFI/Plenum, 1972-<74>
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC463.P7 K5 v.1

Handbook of Ultraviolet and Visible Absorption Spectra of Organic Compounds
http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=972
New York : Plenum Press Data Division, 1967
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QD291.H5

* MCA Selected ultraviolet spectral data.
Pittsburgh : Manufacturing Chemists' Association
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T739 vol. 1

Organic electronic spectral data.
New York : Wiley & Sons 1946/52-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC437.O73, v.1 (1946/1952)-v.9 (1967), v.24 (1982)
Data abstracted from the journal literature for each year, which see. (references)

* Sadtler Ultraviolet Spectra
23,270 spectra
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC453 S28 STANDARD ULTRAVIOLET vol. 1-86

* TRC spectral data - Ultraviolet
College Station, Tex: Thermodynamics Research Center, Texas A & M University System, 1985-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD85 .S5 T74 v.1-v.5

Ultraviolet and visible absorption spectra. Index.
New York, Academic Press. 1930/54-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Z7144.S7 H4 1930/1954 - 1960/1963

Ultraviolet multiplet table / Moore
Washington, DC: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1950-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC100 .U555 no.488

* UV atlas of organic compounds
London: Butterworths, 1966-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference(Non-Circulating) QC459 .U85 v.1-5.
Cumulative MF, alphabetic, and compound classification indexes in v. 5.

Return to Top


divider



X-ray Crystallography/Spectra

* American Minerologist Crystal Structure Database
http://www.geo.arizona.edu/AMS/amcsd.php
Access to every structure published in American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, and the European Journal of Mineralogy. Data from the Physics and Chemistry of Minerals is in the process of being added.

* Bilboa Crystallographic Server [Materials Lab, Univ. of Basque Country, Spain] http://www.cryst.ehu.es/
A wide ranging collection of programs, retrieval tools, and databases including the Incommensurate Structures Database.

CCP14 (Collaborative Computational Project Number 14 for Single Crystal and Powder Diffraction)
http://www.ccp14.ac.uk
Directory to the best and most commonly used crystallography programs

* CPDS Powder Diffraction File
Swarthmore, Pa. : JCPDS, International Centre for Diffraction Data, 1980-
INDEX ONLY: UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC482 .D5 P643
Diffraction patterns available on CDROM in the UB Geology Dept. by contacting Dr. Ross Giese glgclay@buffalo.edu.

* Crystallography Open Database
http://www.crystallography.net/
Over 12,000 structures contributed by researchers worldwide. A separate database of predicted structures is also available.

* Database of Zeolite Structures [International Zeolite Association]
http://www.iza-structure.org/databases/

IUCr Crystallographic Resources and Information Online
http://journals.iucr.org/cww-top/data.index.html
Directory of fee-based and free crystallography databases

IUCr Data Activities in Crystallography
http://www.iucr.org/iucr-top/data/index.html
Directory of crystallography databases, formats and related information

Minerology Database
http://webmineral.com/
Over 4,300 individual mineral species descriptions linked to crystallography, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, properties, Dana's New classification, and Strunz classification.

* Reciprocal Net
http://www.reciprocalnet.org/
A cooperative effort of various crystallography research labs which will be part of the National Science Digital Library funded by NSF.

X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database [NIST]
http://srdata.nist.gov/xps/
Access to the energies of many photoelectron and Auger-electron spectral lines. Resulting from a critical evaluation of the published literature, the database contains over 22,000 line positions, chemical shifts, doublet splittings, and energy separations of photoelectron and Auger-electron lines.

Return to Top


divider



Atomic & Microwave Spectra

* Atomic Spectra Database (ASD) [NIST]
http://physics.nist.gov/cgi-bin/AtData/main_asd
Radiative transitions and energy levels in atoms and atomic ions for observed transitions of 99 elements and energy levels of 52 elements.

* Diatomic Spectral Database [NIST]
http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/MolSpec/Diatomic/index.html
All of the rotational spectral lines observed and reported in the open literature for 121 diatomic molecules have been tabulated. The isotopic molecular species, assigned quantum numbers, observed frequency, estimated measurement uncertainty, and reference are given for each transition reported.

Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopic Data [NIST]
http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/Handbook/index.html
The compilation includes data for the neutral and singly-ionized atoms of all elements hydrogen through einsteinium (Z = 1-99). The wavelengths, intensities, and spectrum assignments are given in a table for each element, and the data for the approximately 12,000 lines of all elements are also collected into a single table, sorted by wavelength (a "finding list").

* Microwave Molecular Spectra, 3rd ed.
http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=1303
Extensive descriptive information, theory, and examples.

MIT wavelength tables.
Cambridge, Mass. : M.I.T. Press, <1969>-c1982 2 v.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC453 .M36 1969
Intensities in arc, spark, or discharge tube of more than 100,000 spectrum lines most strongly emitted by the atomic elements under normal conditions of excitation between 10,000 A. and 2000 A., arranged in order of decreasing wavelengths

* Triatomic Spectral Database [NIST]
http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/MolSpec/Triatomic/index.html
All of the rotational spectral lines observed and reported in the open literature for 55 triatomic molecules have been tabulated. The isotopic molecular species, assigned quantum numbers, observed frequency, estimated measurement uncertainty and reference are given for each transition reported.

Return to Top


divider



Spectra by Compound Class

AGRICULTURAL CHEMICALS

* Sadtler agricultural chemicals
2-15 microns, 4600 IR absorption spectra, grating and prism
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC453 S28 AGRI CHEM vol. 1-3

BIOMOLECULES

* Atlas of protein spectra in the ultraviolet and visible regions.
Vol 1: http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=1013
Vol. 2: http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=1014
New York, IFI/Plenum, 1972-<74>
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC463.P7 K5 v.1

* Atlas of steroid spectra.
Berlin, New York, Springer-Verlag, 1965.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC463.S8 N4
900 IR, UV, NMR spectra

Biological Macromolecule Crystallization Database [NIST]
http://wwwbmcd.nist.gov:8080/bmcd/bmcd.html
The Biological Macromolecule Crystallization Database and NASA Archive for Protein Crystal Growth Data (BMCD ) contains the conditions reported for the crystallization of proteins and nucleic acids used in X-ray structure determinations and archives the results of microgravity macromolecule crystallization studies.

* BMRB: BioMagResBank
http://www.bmrb.wisc.edu/index.html
NMR spectroscopic investigations of biological macromolecules. 1H, 13C, 15N, 31P shift data of proteins/peptides, DNA and RNA. (Univ. of Wisconsin)

Nucleic Acid Database
http://ndbserver.rutgers.edu/
A repository of 3-D structural information about nucleic acids based on NMR and X-ray diffraction analyses.

Protein Data Bank
http://www.rcsb.org/pdb/
A large repository of 3-D structure data for proteins and nucleic acids based on NMR and X-ray analyses.

FOOD PACKAGING ADDITIVES

* Spectra for the Identification of Additives in Food Packaging
http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=949
FT-IR, MS, and HNMR for plastic materials, addiives, and items intended to come into contact with food.

MINERALS (See also X-ray Crystallography/Spectra )

* Infrared (2.1-25 um) spectra of minerals / John W. Salisbury
Baltimore : John Hopkins University Press, 1991.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QE369 .S65 I538 1991

* USGS Digital Spectral Library
http://speclab.cr.usgs.gov/spectral-lib.html
Contains 800+ UV/Near-IR spectra of minerals, mixtures, artificial, liquids and volattiles and vegetation, each with documentation.

POLYCHLORINATED BIPHENYLS (PCBS)

* Spectral data for PCBs
College Station, Tex., USA : Thermodynamics Research Center c1994.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QC463 .B5 S65 1994
IR and mass spectra for 209 compounds indexed by IUPAC name, MF, CAS Reg#, and specific PCB code.

POLYCYCLIC AROMATIC COMPOUNDS (PAH'S)

* Spectral atlas of polycyclic aromatic compounds : including data on occurrence and biological activity
Kluwer Academic Publishers, c1985.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD341.H9 S6354 1985
Covers fluorescence, phosphorescence, UV, mass, NMR, and IR spectra.

POLYMERS

* Atlas of polymer and plastics analysis
Munich : Hanser ; Weinheim ; Deerfield Beach, Fla. : Verlag Chemie, 1978-
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QD139 .P6 H8 1978
Covers IR spectra only.

* Rapra Collection of Infrared Spectra of Rubbers, Plastics, and Thermoplastic Elastomers (2nd Edition)
http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=397
Transmission and pyrolysate spectra of a comprehensive range of technically important rubber and plastic materials.

* Spectra for the Identification of Additives in Food Packaging
http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=949
FT-IR, MS, and HNMR for plastic materials, additives, and items intended to come into contact with food.

Return to Top


divider


divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility