return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Terrorism


Terrorism


  • Background to International Terrorism
  • Terrorism in the U.S.
  • World Trade Center & Pentagon Attacks
  • Afghanistan and the Afghan War
  • Iraq War
  • Disaster Assistance
  • Biological and Chemical Terrorism
  • Understanding Islam


Background to International Terrorism

al-Qa'ida Training Manual
http://www.fas.org/irp/world/para/aqmanual.pdf

Annotated Bibliography of Government Documents Related to the Threat of Terrorism & the Attacks of September 11, 2001 (Oklahoma Department of Libraries)
http://www.odl.state.ok.us/usinfo/terrorism/911.htm
Separate sections cover the aftermath of the September 11 attacks; Congressional and presidential actions; global terrorism; international politics; US national security and foreign relations, policies, and treaties; and weapons of mass destruction (WMD).

Countering Terrorism and Protecting Our Forces (U.S. Department of Defense)
http://www.defenselink.mil/other_info/terrorism.html
Describes efforts by the U.S. military to combat terrorism at home and abroad.

Counterterrorism Office (U.S. Department of State. Office of the coordinator of Counterterrorism)
http://www.state.gov/s/ct/
The U.S. State Department's Counterterrorism Office coordinates US efforts to improve counterterrorism cooperation with foreign governments. Options cover official statements; assistance programs that train foreign personnel; Congressional happenings; treaties; and related sites.

Country Reports on Terrorism (Department of State)
http://www.state.gov/s/ct/rls/crt/ (2000-present)
Lockwood Documents US S 1.138: (1986-2001)
The U.S. State Department prepares this annual report that describes terrorist activities throughout the world. Appendices reproduce chronologies; background data on terrorist groups; and statistical overviews. Issues published since 2002 are not nearly as detailed as the earlier ones.  Reports published between 2000 and 2003 were entitled Patterns of Global Terrorism.  Click Archive  (http://www.state.gov/www/global/terrorism/annual_reports.html) to view reports between 1996 and 1999. 

Documents on Terrorism (Yale University. Avalon Project)
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/terrorism/terror.htm
The Yale Law School's Avalon Project is a digital library that reproduces documents pertaining to law, history, economics, diplomacy, politics, and government. Coverage includes Congressional and international resolutions; Congressional testimonies; and Executive Orders from 1995 to data. The section dealing with the September 11 attack ( http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/sept_11/sept_11.htm ) includes press briefings; speeches; and excerpts from the Congressional Record.

Global Terrorism Database (University of Maryland. National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START)
http://www.start.umd.edu/data/gtd/
A database of nearly 80,000 international terrorist incidents from 1970-2004.  Search for information by dates; locations of incidents; types of attacks and types of weapons used; and numbers of casualties.  All records include this information, and when available, identities of perpetrators.  The database excludes foiled plots.

MIPT (National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism) (Rand Corporation)
http://www.mipt.org/
A comprehensive database of world terrorist incidents and terrorists groups. MIPT monitors terrorism worldwide, providing information on terrorist incidents from 1968-present.

Overseas Security Advisory Council (OSAC) (U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Transportation Security Administration)
http://www.osac.gov/
Encourages sharing of security related information between the U.S. government and Americans living abroad. Select Profiled Groups to view descriptions of groups the U.S. Department of State recognizes as terrorist.

RAND Voices of Jihad Database (Rand Corporation)
http://www.rand.org/research_areas/terrorism/database/
Links to speeches, interviews, statements, and publications of jihadist leaders and followers.

Special Briefing: The Terrorist Attack on America: Background (Council on Foreign Relations)
http://www.foreignaffairs.org/home/terrorism.asp
Lockwood Periodical Collection Per D410 .F6 (1922+)
Online access: 1922+. Search Foreign Affairs in Electronic Journals. Multiple vendors provide varied dates.
Reproduces abstracts of articles and book reviews from the prestigious journal, Foreign Affairs (which is also available in print from 1922-present at Lockwood Periodical Collection Per D410 .F6).

Terrorism - Background and Threat Assessments (Federation of American Scientists)
http://www.fas.org/irp/threat/terror.htm
A comprehensive site that covers the September 11 attacks and their aftermath; general information about terrorism; Mideast terrorism; chemical and biological weapons; the State Department's annual reports on Patterns of Global Terrorism ; and related links.

Terrorism Information Center (National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism, Rand Corporation)
http://www.terrorisminfo.mipt.org/
An online library of reports, articles, fact sheets, and links to related web sites.

TERRORISM LAW & POLICY (University of Pittsburgh School of Law)
http://www.jurist.law.pitt.edu/terrorism.htm
Deals with terrorism from a legal viewpoint.  Topics cover counter terrorism; U.S. and world anti-terrorism laws; civil liberties; and bioterrorism.

Terrorism Research Center (Terrorism Research Center, Inc.)
http://www.terrorism.com/
The Terrorism Research Center, Inc. (TRC) is a non-partisan independent institute dedicated to research on terrorism; information warfare; critical infrastructure protection; and other related issues. It accepts commercial sponsorship in exchange for advertising space on the Web site. Access to selected parts of the Web site requires a subscription.

UN Action Against Terrorism (United Nations)
http://www.un.org/terrorism/
Summarizes UN activities to combat terrorism. Topics cover the Security Council; Counter Terrorism Committee; General Assembly; relevant debates; Economic and Social Council; Secretary-General; the UN Charter and other relevant conventions and declarations; and terrorism and disarmament.

Return to Top


divider



Terrorism in the US

Advisory Panel to Assess Domestic Response Capabilities for Terrorism Involving Weapons of Mass Destruction (Rand Corporation. National Security Research Division)
http://www.rand.org/nsrd/terrpanel
Assessed response capabilities at federal, state, and local levels.

America's War against Terrorism: World Trade Center/Pentagon Terrorism and the Aftermath (University of Michigan. Documents Center)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/usterror.html
One of the most comprehensive Web sites on the subject that covers dozens of related issues. Selected ones deal with chronologies; American and international news sources; Afghanistan; airline safety; Arab-Americans; Arab-Israeli conflict; civil rights; counter terrorism; disaster preparedness; economic impact of the September 11 attacks; military background; religion; psychological effects of disasters; and anti-war activism.

CIA & The War on Terrorism (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA))
https://www.cia.gov/news-information/cia-the-war-on-terrorism/index.html
Presents articles and statements by CIA staff covering 2001 through the present in reverse chronological order.

Congressional Publications

Lockwood Library's Government Documents collection has Congressional publications pertaining to all aspects of terrorism. Retrieve information by either:

  • Consulting the Libraries Catalog, or
  • Searching LexisNexis Congressional ( http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/cis.htm), one of the most comprehensive indexes to Congressional publications.

Other options include:

  • GPO Access (U.S. Government Printing Office)
    http://www.gpoaccess.gov/
    Search Congressional reports, hearings, and committee prints, and the Congressional Record.

  • House of Representatives
    http://www.house.gov
    Browse information prepared by the Committee on Homeland Security (http://hsc.house.gov).

  • Senate
    http://www.senate.gov
    Browse information prepared by the Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs (http://hsgac.senate.gov/public/).

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports on Terrorism (Federation of American Scientists (FAS))
http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/terror/index.html
CRS prepares background studies for Congress.

Counter-Terrorism: Training and Resources for Law Enforcement (U.S. Department of Justice. Office of Justice Programs)
http://www.counterterrorismtraining.gov/
Information pertains to news reports; research; statistics; planning and risk assessment; publications; victim assistance; preparedness at home and work; and preparedness of state and local authorities.

FindLaw: Special Coverage: War on Terrorism (FindLaw)
http://news.findlaw.com/legalnews/us/terrorism/documents/index.html
A broad discussion of military and legislative policies that pertain to both the international and domestic scenes.

Global war on terrorism (gwot) (U.S. Department of Defense. Air Force Counterproliferation Center)
http://www.au.af.mil/au/awc/awcgate/cps-terr.htm
Links connect to key government agencies; non-government sources; and major documents.

Homeland Security Products (U.S. General Accountability Office)
http://www.gao.gov/docsearch/featured/homelandsecurity.html
A collection of documents about homeland security prepared between 1998 and 2002. The General Accountability Office (GAO) is a Congressional agency that conducts audits of programs and services at the request of Congress. Selected materials have General Accounting Office imprints, the previous name of the same agency.

National Commission on Terrorism

RAND®-MIPT (National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism) Knowledge Base

National Security/Terrorism Convictions (Syracuse University. Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC))
http://trac.syr.edu/tracreports/terrorism/
Summarizes convictions and prosecutions filed in U.S. courts for international and domestic terrorism, and terrorism financing.  Selected information is free, but the publisher requires modest fees for detailed reports on specific prosecutions/convictions.

September 11th Sourcebooks (National Security Archives)
http://www.gwu.edu/%7Ensarchiv/NSAEBB/NSAEBB55/index1.html
A compilation of selected US documents about combating domestic terrorism covering the mid-1980's through the present. Five sections pertain to terrorism and Usama bin Laden; Congressional Research Service reports; General Accounting Office reports; Department of Defense directives, instructions and statements; and Presidential directives and executive orders. The National Security Archives collects and preserves declassified US government information.

Task Force on Terrorism and the Law - Report and Recommendations on Military Commissions (American Bar Association)
http://www.abanet.org/leadership/military.pdf
The American Bar Association outlines its thoughts on President Bush's idea of detaining suspected terrorists by military authorities and trying them before military commissions.

Terrorism (U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA))
http://www.fema.gov/hazard/terrorism/index.shtm
A very brief factsheet that outlines basic background information about terrorism in America.

Terrorism in the United States (U.S. Department of Justice. Federal Bureau of Investigation)
http://www.fbi.gov/publications/terror/terroris.htm
The Department of Justice prepares annual reports that describe terrorism in America. In September 2005, the most recent report covered 2000/2001.

US Department of Homeland Security
http://www.dhs.gov/dhspublic/
The Office of Homeland Security develops and coordinates national strategies to combat domestic terrorist threats or attacks, and natural disasters. Data pertain to emergencies and disasters; travel and transportation; immigration and borders; research; and threats and protection.

 

Return to Top


divider



World Trade Center & Pentagon Attacks


Congressional Reports: Joint Inquiry into Intelligence Community Activities before and after the Terrorist Attacks of September 11, 2001 (U.S. Congress)
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/creports/911.html
The declassified version of the report prepared by the House and Senate Intelligence Committees on the September 11 attacks. See also Documents From Congress' Joint Inquiry into 9/11 ( http://www.thememoryhole.org/911/hearings/ ) that reproduces testimonies about the attacks presented to the Congressional Intelligence Committees between June and October 2002.

Documenting the Tragedy: Organizational Documentation Projects (New York State Historical Records Advisory Board)
http://www.nyshrab.org/wtc/
Links to organizations, state and local governments, and educational institutions that offer information about September 11.

Hot Topics: Terrorist Attacks on the U.S. September 11, 2001 (Evergreen State College)
http://www.evergreen.edu/library/govdocs/hotopics/sept11/index.html
Provides an overview of events through pictures; maps; press briefings from the Whitehouse and other agencies; relevant New York State links; and news sources.

National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States
http://www.9-11commission.gov/
An independent, bipartisan commission charged with investigating and reporting upon the September 11, 2001 attacks. View the Commission's Final Report at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/911/index.html and a search engine that indexes its contents at http://vivisimo.com/911 . Although the Commission concluded that the US is on the correct path, the report emphasizes areas that still need improvement.

September 11 Digital Archive (Center for History and New Media. George Mason University and City University of New York Graduate Center. American Social History Project)
http://911digitalarchive.org/
Reproduces personal accounts; photographs; moving images; audio; documents; a guide to Web sites; and FAQs.

September 11th Resources (Special Libraries Association)
http://www.ibiblio.org/slanews/internet/911/
Topics pertain to building and rebuilding; changes in America since 9/11; charities and organizations established for 9/11; economic information; graphics, images, and maps; news; reports and evaluations; victims; and related Web sites

September 11, 2001 (Library of Congress. American Memory Project)
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/collections/911_archive
The Library of Congress compiled reactions, eyewitness accounts, and opinions to the September 11th events. Retrieve data by titles and subjects; and in different formats including written narratives, audios, photographs, and videos.

Television Archive: The September 11th Collection
http://www.televisionarchive.org/sept11.html
Reproduces television news broadcasts between September 11 and 13, 2001.

Return to Top


divider



Afghanistan and the Afghan War

Afghanistan (Pacifica Graduate Institute. Mythological Studies Department. Kathleen Jenks)
The Department's MYTH*ING LINKS project includes annotated and illustrated collections of Web resources relating to mythology, fairy tales, and sacred traditions. Two pages cover Afghanistan.

  • The first deals with the September 11 attack.
    http://www.mythinglinks.org/eurasia~Afghanistan.html
  • The second deals with Afghan history and culture; music; folklore; and arts.
    http://www.mythinglinks.org/Eurasia~Afghanistan2.html

AFGHANISTAN: A Country Study (U.S Library of Congress. Federal Research Division)
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/aftoc.html
Presents detailed background information about Afghanistan. Topics cover history from pre-Islamic times through the present; society and environment; and government and politics.

Afghanistan, the Taliban, and the US: Selected Internet Resources (University of California, Berkeley. Library)
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/SSEAL/SouthAsia/afghan_US.html
A comprehensive guide that covers general information; Taliban; opposition groups; al-Qa'ida and Osama bin Laden; government statements; pacifist viewpoints; research & analysis; human rights; Afghans in diaspora; news sources; and online journals.

Afghanistan Web Links (United States Institute of Peace)
http://www.usip.org/library/regions/afghan.html
The United States Institute of Peace is a nonpartisan group created by Congress to promote peaceful resolution of international conflicts. Highlights cover general resources; government agencies and international organizations; Islamic area studies; maps and guides; media and news sources; political resources; and selected documents.

News Focus: Afghanistan (United Nations)
http://www.un.org/apps/news/infocusRel.asp?infocusID=16&Body
=Afghanistan&Body1=

Reproduces data issued by the UN about the Afghan situation, including Security Council reports and resolutions. A link to Afghanistan & the United Nations presents background data about the country that emphasizes the second half of the 20th Century. ( http://www.un.org/News/dh/latest/afghan/un-afghan-history.shtml )

Understanding Afghanistan: Land in Crisis (National Geographic)
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/landincrisis/
View news; bibliographic references that include live links; a Webcast; and maps.

War on Terrorism Resource Guides (East Carolina University. David Durant, Government Documents Librarian)
http://www.ecu.edu/cs-lib/govdoc/waronterror.cfm
Separate sections cover the attack on America; Osama bin Laden and al-Qa'ida; Saddam Hussein and Iraq; News and Analysis; Afghanistan and the Taliban; and Post-Saddam Iraq.

Return to Top


divider



Iraq War

Iraq Crisis (University at Buffalo. Law Library)
http://law.lib.buffalo.edu/research/webguides/iraq.asp
Karen Spencer, a Law Librarian at the University at Buffalo, covers background data about Iraq, the war, postwar developments, and sources for further information.

Return to Top


divider



Disaster Assistance

Emergency Preparedness: Guidance and General Information (U.S. Department of Justice. Justice Management Division)
http://www.usdoj.gov/jmd/ps/dojepm.htm
Topics cover the homeland security advisory system; emergency notification numbers; CFR Title 41 Management of Buildings and Grounds; frequently asked questions; fact sheet on terrorism; crisis management plan; funding guidelines; and a family preparedness guide.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
http://www.fema.gov/
The Federal Emergency Management Agency, an office within the larger Department of Homeland Security, responds to natural disasters and other emergency rescue operations relating to chemical spills; fire; hazardous materials; nuclear and radioactive releases; and terrorism. Consult the Risk Management Series for advice about minimizing hazardous events and emergencies.(http://www.fema.gov/plan/prevent/rms)

Managing The Emergency Consequences of Terrorist Incidents : Interim Planning Guide For State and Local Governments (U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA))
http://www.fema.gov/pdf/plan/managingemerconseq.pdf
Provides a framework for local planners who are preparing emergency plans. FEMA hopes this will improve federal, state, and local interactions, and demonstrate planning and operational challenges.

National Terrorism Preparedness Institute (St. Petersburg College. National Terrorism Preparedness Institute)
http://terrorism.spjc.edu/
The Institute trains first responders to survive and mitigate the consequences of terrorist use of weapons of mass destruction. The most valuable parts of this site are links to key documents and government agencies (http://terrorism.spcollege.edu/new/resources.aspx).

Office of Emergency Management (OEM)  (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Office of Solid Waste and Emergency Response (OSWER)
http://www.epa.gov/emergencies/index.htm
Provides leadership to prevent, prepare for and respond to health and environmental emergencies by cooperating with other federal offices, state and local agencies, and industry. Topics cover current news; laws and regulations; policy guidance; publications; links to databases.

Responding to Terrorism Victims: Oklahoma City and Beyond (U.S. Department of Justice.
Office of Justice Programs)
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/ovc/publications/infores/respterrorism/welcome.html
Identifies the special measures needed to protect the rights and meet the needs of victims of a large-scale terrorist attack involving mass casualties.

State Emergency Management Office (New York State)
http://www.semo.state.ny.us/
The New York State Emergency Management Office coordinates activities relating to natural disasters and other emergencies.

State Offices and Agencies of Emergency Management (U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Federal Emergency Management Agency)
http://www.fema.gov/about/contact/statedr.shtm

Return to Top


divider



Biological and Chemical Terrorism

Bioterrorism Threat: A Health Spotlight Special Report (Public Broadcasting Service)
http://www.pbs.org/newshour/health/bioterrorism.html
Reproduces broadcasts about bioterrorism from the MacNeil-Lehrer News Hour in text and audio formats.

Chemical & Biological Weapons Resource Page (Center for Nonproliferation Studies)
http://cns.miis.edu/research/cbw/
Covers the characteristics and capabilities of chemical and biological weapons; proliferation; defense against their use; and terrorism. Additional information deals with the Americas; Middle East and Africa; Europe and the former Soviet states; and East Asia.

Federation of American Scientist (FAS)
http://www.fas.org
A group of nuclear scientists formed FAS in 1945 to promote humanitarian uses of science and technology while addressing broad spectrums of national security issues. Three particularly usefuL Web sites are:

  • Biological and Chemical Weapons Control
    http://www.fas.org/programs/ssp/bio/index.html
    Attempts to raise awareness among scientists of the dangers these weapons pose.
  • Chemical Weapons Information
    http://www.fas.org/programs/ssp/bio/chemweapons/index.html
    Provides an introduction to the topic, and then discusses production and delivery of weapons, and specific chemical agents.
  • Introduction to Biological Weapons
    http://www.fas.org/programs/ssp/bio/resource/introtobw.html
    Provides an introduction to the topic, and then discusses production and delivery of weapons, and specific biological agents.

Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))
http://www.bt.cdc.gov/
Describes the Centers for Disease Control's bioterrorism program. Data cover news; emergency response; planning and training; laboratories; specific biologic and chemical agents and related diseases; National Pharmaceutical Stockpile Program; and emergency contacts.

Return to Top


divider



Understanding Islam

INDEPTH: Islam FAQ: The will of God (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation)
http://www.cbc.ca/news/background/islam/
Brief articles summarize Islam's history and evolution; Ramadan; Hajj--the pilgrimage to Mecca; Sunni v. Shia; Islamic law in Canada; Fatwas--legal opinions of Islamic scholars; and additional resources.

Islamic Studies, Islam, Arabic, and Religion (University of Georgia. Virtual Center for Interdisciplinary Studies of the Islamic World (VCISIW))
http://www.uga.edu/islam/
Professor Alan Godlas of the University of Georgia presents an overview of Islam and related subjects. Sections cover Muhammad; Islamic sects; Islam in the modern world; Islamic women, populations, and culture; and recent events in Afghanistan and the Taleban.

Muslim Life In America (U.S. Department of State. Bureau of International Information Programs)
http://usinfo.state.gov/products/pubs/muslimlife/homepage.htm
Outlines Muslim Life in the United States. Topics pertain to photographs; articles; Presidential statements; readings; and links to Internet sites and non-governmental organizations.

Return to Top


divider

Guide Author: Edward Herman
Last Updated: May 30, 2007
divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility