return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 

Guide Author: Mary Soom
Last Updated: 27 Jan 2009


 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Writing Composition > Style Manuals & Writing Guides


Style Manuals & Writing Guides


This guide lists sources of information for finding film reviews. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries (ASL), or on the World Wide Web.

  • Citation Style Manuals
  • Writing Guides
  • Internet Resources


Call Numbers

The Chicago Manual of Style
Lockwood Reference, UGL/SEL Reference, APL Ref Z 253 U69 2003

The Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources
Lockwood Reference, UGL/SEL Reference J9.5 G37

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations.
Lockwood Reference, UGL/SEL Reference LB 2369 T8 1996
Commonly referred to as Turabian , this standard style manual is based on The Chicago Manual.

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Lockwood Reference, UGL/SEL Reference PN 147 G444 1998
This companion to the MLA Handbook is the standard guide for work in the humanities.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Lockwood Reference, UGL/SEL Reference, APL Reference BF 76.7 P83 2001
Commonly referred to as APA Style , this is the manual used for psychology and related disciplines.

Return to Top


divider



Writing Guides

For additional titles, search BISON for one of the following subjects:

English language—style
English language—usage
Dissertations, Academic—Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Research--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Report writing--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Scholarly publishing

Elements of Style
Lockwood Reference, UGL/SEL Reference, APL Reference PE 1421 S87 1979
This is the classic by Strunk and White. The 1918 edition of Elements of Style is online.

The New Fowler's Modern English Usage
Lockwood Reference, UGL/SEL Reference PE 1628 F65 1996
Useful for guidance in word selection and acceptable grammatical construction.

Guide to writing empirical papers, theses, and dissertations
Lockwood Reference, APL Reference LB2369 G27 2002

Handbook for Academic Authors
Lockwood Reference PN 146 L84 2001
Covers preparing articles for journals, revising a dissertation for publication and finding a publisher.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Lockwood Reference, UGL/SEL Reference, APL Ref LB 2369 G53
Designed as a companion volume to the MLA Style Manual , this is a basic reference for students.

A Writer’s Reference
UGL/SEL, APL, LAW Reference PE 1408 H2778
A writing guide with citation style examples for all popular styles.
Also available online at A Writer's Reference

Return to Top


divider



Internet Resources

APA Format (from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Includes summaries and examples of APA style, including formats for electronic sources.

MLA Format (from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Includes summaries and examples of MLA style, including formats for electronic sources.

Citing References in Your Paper
Provides links to several documentation styles from the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Writing Center.

A Writer's Reference
UGL/SEL Reference PE 1408 H2778 2001
A writing guide with citation style examples for all popular styles.

Research and Documentation Online by Diana Hacker
Inlcudes examples for all popular citation styles.

Return to Top


divider



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility