Guide to the University Archives' Collections

site map

UB Libraries --- University at Buffalo Archives: HOME --- COLLECTIONS --- GUIDES --- Buffalo and WNY Architecture

Buffalo and Western New York Architecture


MS 22 -- Frank Lloyd Wright papers, 1903-1979 (inclusive), 1903-1906 (bulk)
Click here to view a full listing of the Frank Lloyd Wright papers, MS 22

Architectural plans, drawings, and contractor's letter book for the Darwin D. Martin House (Buffalo, N.Y.), 1903-05; tape recorded interviews with Dorothy Martin Foster and Darwin R. Martin concerning the Martin House; microfilmed plans, 1904, for the Larkin Company Administration Building; plans, 1929, for the Martin family country house.

Blueprints for the W.W. Davies house in Louisville, Ky., designed by Wright but never constructed; correspondence between Wright and Michael Meredith Hare concerning apprenticeship at Taliesen and Wright's views on architectural education; and photographs. Much of the material is also available on microfilm.


MS 22 -- Frank Lloyd Wright collection. Oral histories, 1971-1980
Transcripts and tape recorded interviews with Dorothy Martin Foster, Darwin R. Martin and others concerning the Darwin D. Martin House in Buffalo, N.Y. and other structures in Western New York designed by Wright.

MS 48 -- Jaroslav Joseph Polivka papers concerning Frank Lloyd Wright, 1945-1959
Polivka was a consulting engineer and architect, worked with Frank Lloyd Wright on several projects, performing stress analyses and investigations of specific building materials.

MS 52 -- Audubon New Community Records, 1964-1987
The Audubon New Community, located in West Amherst, N.Y., is one of three new communities or towns developed in New York State by the Urban Development Corporation, a corporate governmental agency and public benefit corporation. The intention of these new towns was to offer their residents the opportunity to live, work, and play within a given area of land which had been designed and developed within the framework of an overall master plan. UDC was established in 1968 through the New York State Urban Development Corporation Act.

MS 67 -- Parkwyn Village drawing, 1947
Located in Kalamazoo, Mich., Parkwyn Village was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright in 1947 as a Usonian community. The architectural drawing is a blueline print (41x60") of an original ink and colored pencil drawing.

MS 68 -- Graycliff Conservancy, Inc., records
(Collection is unprocessed)
See Graycliff - The Isabelle R. Martin House online exhibit. Collection includes organizational records and artifacts relating to Graycliff

MS 93 -- Buffalo and Western New York building codes and zoning ordinances, 1953-1994
Collection of Manuel D. Lopez. Building and housing codes and zoning ordinances for the city of Buffalo, N.Y., the town of Amherst, N.Y., and Erie County, N.Y. Documents cover the period 1936-1986. Also includes some similar documents for other municipalities in Western New York.

MS 97 -- Milstein, Wittek & Davis Associates records, ca. 1960-1990
(Collection is unprocessed.)

MS 99 -- Buffalo and Western New York building codes and zoning ordinances, 1936-1986
Collection of Milstein, Wittek, Davis & Associates.

A collection of building and housing codes and zoning, health, and sanitation ordinances for the city of Buffalo, N.Y., the town of Amherst, N.Y., and Erie County, N.Y. Documents cover the period 1936-1986. Also includes some similar documents for other municipalities in Western New York.

MS 101 -- Charles R. Dawson records as planning consultant
(Collection is unprocessed.)

MS 108 -- Thomas H. McKaig, Applied structural design, ca.1941
Copy of typescript by McKaig (1890-1967), an engineer and architect in. Buffalo, N.Y.

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Try searching the University Archives' website
or searching BISON catalog

University Archives 420 Capen Hall - Buffalo, NY 14260
Phone: 716-645-2916 -- Fax: 716-645-3714
Email: lib-archives@buffalo.edu
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/archives/collections/guides/arch2.htm
Last updated 27 October 2004
Please note that all images used on this website are ©University Archives, State University of New York at Buffalo