Guide to the University Archives' Collections

site map

UB Libraries --- University at Buffalo Archives: HOME --- COLLECTIONS --- GUIDES --- The Alternative Press

Political and Social Issues and the Alternative Press


MS 41 -- Anti-war publications, 1967-1973
(Collection has significant amount of unprocessed material.)
Papers either produced or collected by Anthony Novitsky that document opposition to the Vietnamese Conflict. A number of organizations are represented. Also included is an oral history interview taped by Christopher Densmore, University Archives, July 25, 1978 that covers Novitsky's activities in the Catholic peace movement, the anti-war movement in Buffalo, and his recollections of various individuals and organizations in Buffalo during the late 1960s and early 1970s.

MS 72 -- Labor unions collection, ca. 1993-
(Collection is unprocessed)

MS 73 -- Alternative press collection, 1969-1992
A collection of material related to labor, anti-war, student unrest, and free speech issues. Runs of periodicals issued nationally and locally are included. A small number of pamphlets are included. The collection also contains mimeographed statements and other material issued by the Buffalo Branch of the Marxist-Leninist Party U.S. and the Union of Buffalo Anti-Imperialist Students.

MS 76 -- Anthony W. Novitsky and Christopher Densmore, collection of Alternative Presses, 1963-2000, 1963-1989
A collection of periodicals issued 1963-2000 with most of the material dated prior to 1990. Additionally, there is non-periodical material arranged by issuing organization. Periodicals and other material related to draft resistance and conscientious objectors during the Vietnamese Conflict are well represented in the collection.

Other topics well represented include civil rights, the peace movement, disarmament, the women's movement, student unrest, and the labor movement. The most extensive periodical runs are for New left Notes, Peace Center Report, Peace News for Nonviolent Revolution, Peace Newsletter, Reporter: for conscience's sake, and Win. The bulk of the material was collected by Anthony W. Novitsky. Similar material collected by Christopher Densmore was incorporated to form a single collection.

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Try searching the University Archives' website
or searching BISON catalog

University Archives 420 Capen Hall - Buffalo, NY 14260
Phone: 716-645-2916 -- Fax: 716-645-3714
Email: lib-archives@buffalo.edu
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/archives/collections/guides/press2.htm
Last updated 28 October 2004
Please note that all images used on this website are ©University Archives, State University of New York at Buffalo