Guides to thematic collections: Race Relations in Buffalo and Western New York
MS 07 -- Citizens' Council on Human Relations records, 1955-1992, 1963-1981
- The Citizens' Council on Human Relations (CCHR), incorporated as a non-profit organization in 1963, strove for social equality and "to work toward equal access to services for all" and "to foster integration in educational institutions throughout the Niagara Frontier."
MS 15 -- Lydia T. Wright, (1922- ) papers, 1883-1968, 1960-1968
- Papers of Dr. Lydia T. Wright [Mrs. Frank G. Evans], pediatrician and first African-American member of the Buffalo Board of Education. The papers include research materials on school integration--press clippings; speeches, correspondence, and information on community organizations primarily concerning efforts to integrate the school systems of Buffalo, N.Y. and other civil rights issues, ca. 1962-68 including the 1963 march on Washington. Also includes personal memorabilia and family papers, ca. 1883-1935.
- finding aid available online
MS 21 -- Buffalo Urban League reports, 1935-1962
- Annual reports of the Buffalo Urban League, Inc., 1935-44, 1947, 1950-52, 1954-62. Quarterly reports, 1946 and 1948 (both incomplete). Audio tape of John Dewey entitled "In Philosophy" (recorded Dec. 7, 1941).
MS 34 -- Citizens' Task Force on Racism papers, 1967-1982
- The Citizen Task Force on Racism was formed in 1980 following the apparently racially motivated murder of African-Americans in Buffalo, N.Y. It is believed that the organization grew out of Unity Day Rally held by the Buffalo Unity Day Committee in October 1980. The attention of the Citizen Task Force centered on the activities of the Ku Klux Klan and its local advocate, Karl Hand, and on neo-Nazi groups with a special emphasis on Manfred Raeder, leader of the German Initiative Party and publisher of German Citizen's Initiative.
MS 38 -- Jonson, George Washington, (1801-1880) : Diaries, 1848, 1857
- The diaries contain detailed accounts of political, social, and legal affairs in Buffalo, New York, and of Jonson's activities. Particularly interesting are Jonson's comments and accounts of abolitionist and other reform activities, in which he was an active participant.
MS 59 -- Sarah Simmons papers on school desegregation in Buffalo, N.Y., 1977-1980
- Sarah Simmons was a member of the Citizen's Commission on School Desegregation and the Emergency School Aid Act Advisory Committee in Buffalo, N.Y.
MS 81 -- New York State Freedom Train scrapbook and typescript, 1949
- A scrapbook containing newspaper articles from a variety of local newspapers in New York State which chronicle the visit of the New York State Freedom Train in their communities; plus a typescript record (ca. 188 leaves) of the events is part of this collection. Also included is a group photograph which includes President Harry S. Truman (inscribed To Post 156 Wm A. Lloyd [spelling of name not certain]).
MS 83 -- New York Manumission Society records, ca. 1785-1849 (Collection is unprocessed.)
- Records from the New-York Society for Promoting the Manumission of Slaves, and Protecting Such of Them as Have Been, or May Be Liberated.
MS 103 -- David G. Jay papers, ca. 1970-1989 (Collection is unprocessed.)
- George Arthur, et al., plaintiffs-appellees vs. Ewald P. Nyquist, et al., defendants-appellants.
MS 104 -- Buffalo school desegregation collection (Collection is unprocessed.)
MS 106 -- Joseph Manch, papers, ca. 1930s-1980s (Collection is unprocessed.)
MS 114 -- Uncrowned Queens Oral History project, 2004
- Oral histories of Georgia Burnette, Gwendolyn Greene, Thelma Hardiman, Eva Noles, Garnet Hicks Wallace conducted by Peggy Brook-Bertram and Barbara Seals Nevergold of the Uncrowned Queens Institute for Research and Education on Women, Inc.
- finding aid available online
MS 125 -- Noles, Eva M.
- Eva M. Noles Papers, c.1932-2004 include scrapbooks, photographs, correspondence, awards, and publications documenting the professional career of Eva M. Noles, nurse, author, and local activist.
- finding aid available online
Didn't find what you were looking for?
Try browsing the University Archives' website or searching BISON catalog
|