Guide to the University Archives' Collections

site map

UB Libraries --- University at Buffalo Archives: HOME --- COLLECTIONS --- GUIDES --- Campus Unrest Collections

Campus Unrest Collections at UB


The years from 1964 to 1973 the University at Buffalo saw many student protests on subjects such as the Vietnam War, the ROTC presence on campus, racial bias in athletics, and the Department of Defense research (Themis). During spring semester 1970, the situation between the students, faculty and administration reached a boiling point.

Click here to view some photographs of these highlighted events

A quick chronological look of some of the major events during that time period:

August 11, 1969
President Martin M. Meyerson officially steps down. Peter F. Regan, III takes on the role of Acting President.

February 24, 1970
During a Clark Gym sit-in to protest racial inequalities in the Athletic Department, the administration calls Buffalo police to monitor the campus.

February 25, 1970
The next day students hold a rally of approximately 3,000 people in protest of the administration's action to call non-University law enforcement. Protesters cause significant property damage and the administration calls the police again telling them to arrest any vandals. There is a confrontation between the police and about 500 protesters resulting in the arrest of several dozen people.

February 26, 1970
Several hundred books are destroyed when a firebomb is thrown into Lockwood Library (now Abbott Hall, the Health Sciences Library).

February 27, 1970
Students go on strike. Class attendence drops 30-40 percent and rallies are held. State Supreme Court Justice Marshall issues injunction again demonstrators.

March 1, 1970
Acting President, Peter F. Regan goes on local television to deliver an address on the campus situation. Insteading of speaking about the demands of the students, he concentrates his address on the property that was damaged during the protests calling them "vicious vandals."

March 2, 1970
Regan calls for a one-day postponement of classes to ease tensions.

March 5, 1970
Twenty UB students are suspended.

March 8, 1970
The Buffalo police set up temporary headquarters on campus and begin regular patrols.

March 10, 1970
Regan rescinds the suspensions of the 20 students. That afternoon a pig is roasted in effigy of the police's presence on campus in front of Norton Union (now Squire Hall).

March 15, 1970
Forty-five members of the faculty hold a sit-in in Acting President Regan's office in order to express their extreme concern with the police presense on campus, but the administration has them all arrested.

March 16, 1970
Demonstrations are held demanding the release of the "Faculty 45." In support, the 33 record, "Hayes Hall Blues" is produced by Vizzy Goth and his Vicious Vandals.

March 17, 1970
The Acting President finally asks police to leave the campus at the same time the 'University Survival Group' announces its existence at press conference. Also the Faculty Senate passes a motion of 'no confidence' in campus administration.

March 21, 1970
Spring break begins.

May 7, 1970
During the evening, two police cars drive up to Norton Union (now Squire Hall) and fire BBs randomly at students. Riots start and many students are injured.

June 30, 1970
Acting President Peter F. Regan, III steps down from office. Dr. Robert Ketter, Dean of the Graduate School, is elected President of the University.


For more information see "Campus Crisis: The Search for Power" by Dean G. Pruitt and James P. Gahagan (collection 3/5/897)

Browse through some campus unrest photographs from the Archives' collection


Browse a list of the Campus Unrest Collections at UB



University Archives 420 Capen Hall - Buffalo, NY 14260
Phone: 716-645-2916 -- Fax: 716-645-3714
Email: lib-archives@buffalo.edu
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/archives/collections/guides/unrest.htm
Last updated 10 February 2005
Please note that all images used on this website are ©University Archives, State University of New York at Buffalo