Women's History collections

Home | About | Collections | Contact | Directions | Exhibits | UB History | Links | Ask a Question | Sitemap

Guide to the Women's History collections at UB


To support the research mission of the State University of New York at Buffalo, the University Archives collects and preserves organizational records and private papers having significant historical or research value. Much of the material concerns the Buffalo region during the twentieth century. This local emphasis not only documents the area, but also records how crucial national and international issues were perceived and acted upon in a specific setting.

Browse a list of the Women's History Collections at UB

Particular attention has been paid to the preservation of the records of women's organizations in the region. Among the records of women's organization are those of the Zonta Club of Buffalo records, 1920s-1990s; American Association of University Women, 1909-1980 (Buffalo Branch); the Camp Fire Girls of Buffalo and Erie County, 1913-1970; Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, 1960-1973 (Buffalo Branch); and the Buffalo Women's Center, 1973-1978.


The founders of the National League of American Pen Women, Western New York Branch, c.1920 [detail]

The University Archives also actively collects the papers of individual University faculty and staff members. Browse the online exhibit, Women's Work: a tribute to the women who make UB work, for various timelines, oral histories, and biographies highlighting the achivements of over eighty faculty and staff women who have contributed to the history of UB.

Also collecting the papers of other Western New York women, the University Archives has the personal collections of women in politics and government, educators, civic and community leaders, activists on behalf of women's rights and related issues, students, and homemakers. They document the suffrage movement in the early years of the twentieth century, the peace movement of the 1930s, and the growth of the modern women's movement in the 1960s and 1970s among other historically significant topics.



UB Libraries >>> University at Buffalo Archives: HOME >>> Collections >>> Thematic Guides >>> Guide to Women's History collections


University Archives 420 Capen Hall - Buffalo, NY 14260
Phone: 716-645-2916 -- Fax: 716-645-3714
Email: lib-archives@buffalo.edu
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/archives/collections/guides/women.htm
Last updated 10 May 2006
Images used on this website are ©University Archives, State University of New York at Buffalo