HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act): a guide to selected resources
Purpose: The purpose of this guide is to assist library users in locating materials on the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (also known as HIPAA).
Introduction
to the Topic | Important Terms | Web Sites | Subject Headings
| Books | Videos | Online Databases | Journals
The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act is "federal legislation whose primary purpose is to provide continuity of healthcare coverage. It does this partly by providing limitations on preexisting condition exclusions, as well as prohibiting discrimination against individuals based on health status. The law also guarantees that insured workers will be eligible to keep their insurance if they leave their jobs. It created the medical savings account (MSA) to help individuals pay for their health care. HIPAA also made amendments to other legislation, including the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), and the Public Health Service Act.
For many health care providers, however, HIPAA is mostly of interest because it contains a section on 'administrative simplification' that calls for sweeping new requirements for the electronic transmission of health information. It is that section that raises issues of who is a covered entity under HIPAA, who is a business associate (partner), and what is protected health information (PHI).
The passage of this legislation has also created a new interest in healthcare standards, since this law focuses on standards for data interchange in the areas of healthcare plans, claims and reimbursement."
Slee's Health Care Terms, Vergil N. Slee, 2001, 287-288
Administrative simplification:
Title II, Subtitle F, of HIPAA, which gives HHS the authority to
mandate the use of standards for the electronic exchange of health
care data; to specify what medical and administrative code sets
should be used within those standards; to require the use of national
identification systems for health care patients, providers, payers
(or plans), and employers (or sponsors); and to specify the types
of measures required to protect the security and privacy of personally
identifiable health care information. This is also the name of Title
II, Subtitle F, Part C of HIPAA.
Business Associate:
A person or organization that performs a function or activity on
behalf of a covered entity, but is not part of the covered entity's
workforce. A business associate can also be a covered entity in
its own right. Also see Part II, 45 CFR 160.103. (CMS Centers
for Medicare & Medicaid Services Glossary http://cms.hhs.gov/glossary/)
Covered Entity (CE):
Under HIPAA, this is a health plan, a health care clearinghouse,
or a health care provider who transmits any health information in
electronic form in connection with a HIPAA transaction. Also see
Part II, 45 CFR 160.103. (A HIPAA Glossary http://www.wedi.org/public/articles/HIPAA_GLOSSARY.pdf)
Electronic Data Interchange
(EDI):
The exchange of routine business transactions via computer. EDI
enforces a level of standardization in the way the electronically
transmitted data is formatted, making it possible for a variety
of different computer system [sic] to exchange data. The term is
used in health care primarily in connection with claims and other
financial transactions. (Slee's Health Care Terms, 4th ed.,
p. 220)
Employee Retirement
Income Security Act (ERISA):
The Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA) is a law that
provides protections for individuals enrolled in pension, health,
and other benefit plans sponsored by private-sector employers, including
certain rights to information, as well as a grievance and appeals
process for individuals to get benefits from their plan. The Department
of Labor administers the law. (SC HIPAA Office http://www.hipaa.state.sc.us/glossary.htm)
Group Health Plan:
Under HIPAA this is an employee welfare benefit plan that provides
for medical care and that either has 50 or more participants or
is administered by another business entity. Also see Part II, 45
CFR 160.103. (A HIPAA Glossary http://www.wedi.org/public/articles/HIPAA_GLOSSARY.pdf)
Medical Savings Account
(MSA):
A mechanism created in 1996 by HIPAA to help individuals provide
funds for health care. It is a savings account set up for an individual
under regulations and tax treatment similar to an individual retirement
account (IRA). The cash in the account is available to pay for deductibles,
copayments, and services not provided by the holder's insurance.
Sometimes called a health IRA or medical IRA. (Slee's Health
Care Terms, 4th ed., p. 380)
Preexisting conditions:
A physical or mental condition which has been discovered before
an individual applies for health insurance. Insurers often deny
insurance to individuals with certain preexisting conditions, or
invoke a waiting period, or reject a group unless such individuals
are excluded. (Slee's Health Care Terms, 4th ed., p. 495)
Protected Health Information
(PHI):
Referring to health information that is 'electronically maintained
or transmitted' by a covered entity. While this does not include
traditional paper-based health information, this may turn out to
be a very narrow exclusion in real life . . . Under proposed regulations
flowing from HIPAA, such PHI includes not only all past, present,
or future health (both physical and mental) information about an
individual, but also information about whether any health care was
even provided or paid for. (Slee's Health Care Terms, 4th
ed., p. 508)
AHA HIPAA Standards
http://www.hospitalconnect.com/aha/key_issues/hipaa/index.html
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services HIPAA Insurance Reform
http://cms.hhs.gov/hipaa/hipaa1/default.asp
Health & Human Services - Office for Civil Rights - HIPAA
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/hipaa
Health Care Administrative
Simplification
http://aspe.hhs.gov/admnsimp/index.shtml
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/4234.html
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)
http://www.dol.gov/dol/topic/health-plans/portability.htm
HIPAAdvisory
http://www.hipaadvisory.com/
A HIPAA Glossary
http://www.wedi.org/public/articles/HIPAA_GLOSSARY.pdf
HIPAA Insurance Reform
http://cms.hhs.gov/hipaa/hipaa1/default.asp
HIPAA.ORG
http://www.hipaa.org
The HIPAA Privacy Rule
and Research
http://privacyruleandresearch.nih.gov
New York State Office of Mental Health
http://www.omh.state.ny.us/omhweb/hipaa/hipaa_home.htm
Practice Brief: A HIPAA Privacy Checklist
http://library.ahima.org/xpedio/groups/public/documents/ahima/pub_bok2_000583.html
Protecting Personal Health Information in Research: Understanding
the HIPAA Privacy Rule
http://privacyruleandresearch.nih.gov/pdf/HIPAA_Booklet_4-14-2003.pdf
QuadraMed's Internet Forum on HIPAA Preparedness
http://www.hipaa-iq.com/summary.htm
Subject Headings to Use for Further Searching in Databases and Catalogs:
Medical Subject Headings
(MeSH)
Confidentiality
Ethics, Medical
"Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act"
Managed Care Programs-organization & administration-United States
Medical Records
Medical Records Systems, Computerized
Privacy
Security Measures
Library of Congress
Subject Headings
Health-Information services-Management-Moral and ethical aspects.
Managed care plans (Medical Care)-Management.
Medical records-access control
Medical records-Law and Legislation-United States
United States. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
of 1996.
Ethical Challenges in the Management of Health Information.
Edited by Laurinda B. Harman. Gaithersburg, MD: Aspen Publishers,
2001.
W 26.5 E835 2001
HIPAA Compliance Handbook. Gaithersburg, MD: Aspen Publishers, 2006.
W 275 AA1 H6675 2001
HIPAA IT Essentials: Health Information Transactions, Privacy
and Security. Rada, R. Baltimore, MD: Hypermedia Solutions,
Ltd., 2001.
WX 173 R124h 2001
HIPAA IT Handbook: Strategies to Protect Health Information.
Bogen, Jonathan D. Marblehead, MA: Opus Communications, 2002.
WX 39 B674h 2002
The HIPAA Handbook: What Your Organization Should Know about
the Federal Privacy Standards. Edited by Dennis Melamed
& Alexander J. Brittin. Washington, DC: URAC/American Accreditation
HealthCare Commission, 2001.
WX 33.AA1 H667 2001
HIPAA Made Simple: A Practical Guide to Compliance. Amatayakul,
Margaret K. Marblehead, MA: Opus Communications, 2001.
W 900 A487h 2001
HIPAA Plain and Simple: A Compliance Guide for Healthcare Professionals. Hartley, Carolyn P. Chicago: AMA Press, 2004.
WX 173 H332h 2004 (General Reference)
HIPAA Program Reference Handbook. Edited by Ross Leo. Boca Raton: Auerbach Publications, 2005.
WX 33 AA1 H56 2005 (General Reference)
HIPAA: A Short and Long-term Perspective for Health Care.
Doscher, Michael. Chicago: AMA Press, 2002.
WX 33.AA1 D722h, 2002
Privacy and Confidentiality in Mental Health Care. Edited
by John J. Gates and Bernard S. Arons. Baltimore, Md.: Paul H. Brookes
Pub. Co., 2000.
WM 33.AA1 P961 2000
Privacy and Confidentiality of Health Information. Dennis, Jill Callahan. San Francisco, Calif.: Jossey-Bass: AHA Press,
2000.
WX 173 D411p 2000
Videos:
Get Hip to HIPAA: Teleconference, March 12, 2003.
Medical Library Association. East Lansing, Mich.: MSU Libraries,
2003.
Videocassette VHS WX 173 G394 2003
HIPAA: A guide for Healthcare Workers. DeLair, Catherine
E. and Carole H. Patterson. Cypress, CA: Medcom Trainex, 2003.
Videocassette VHS WX 33 AA1 H6675 2003
HIPAA: Privacy Compliance. Coastal Training Technologies Corp. Virginia Beach, VA: Coastal Training Technologies Corp., 2002.
Videocassette VHS WX 173 H6672 2002
Meeting the HIPAA Challenge:
Implementing the HIPAA Administrative Simplifications. Phillips, Robin and Kim B. Pardue. Baltimore, MD: Medicare Learning Network, 2002.
Videocassette VHS WX 33 AA1 M495 2002
Check the UB Online Catalog for newly added items - UB Libraries Catalog
MEDLINE
CINAHL
(Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
ABI/Inform
(Global)
EBSCOhost MasterFILE Select
Lexis-Nexis
Academic
The following is a list of journals owned by HSL that may have coverage of HIPAA:
AAOHN Journal
AORN
Journal
American
Journal of Nursing
Annals
of Emergency Medicine
Healthcare Financial Management
Health Management Technology
Journal of AHIMA
Journal of Health Care Finance
Modern Healthcare
New England Journal of Medicine
Nursing Economics
Occupational Health & Safety
Postgraduate Medicine
Consult a reference librarian for more recommendations.
Edited and updated by Susan LaValley
Created by Michelle L. Zafron
| URL: http://ublib.buffalo.edu/hsl/resources/guides/hipaa.html | Created: August 30, 2002 | Revised: May 17, 2006 |
Home