Tutorials for PDAs, Biomedical Databases, and Library Research Techniques: A Guide to the Resources

Use these tutorials to learn how to use a PDA (personal digital assistant), perform library research, or search MEDLINE and other biomedical databases.

To connect to the biomedical databases from the Health Sciences Library home page, select "Biomedical Databases" from the menu on the left or select a biomedical database from this list.

PDA Tutorials

How PDAs Work - Basic overview of the history, parts and features of PDAs and smartphones.

EctopicBrain: The Basics - Kent E. Willyard, MD
This site is not exactly a tutorial, but has a plethora of useful information on PDAs.

The pdaMD.com Tutorials - Provides step-by-step instructions for all PDA users, from beginner to professional.

UB School of Nursing -- list of sites that offer software related to PDAs and the nursing profession.

MEDLINE Tutorials via Ovid

MEDLINE is the premier database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the pre-clinical sciences.

Ovid Tutorial - Interactive tutorial from Ovid designed to familiarize you with the core functionality of Ovid's search software

MEDLINE Search Instructions - Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library, George Washington University

Ovid MEDLINE Tutorial - Medical Center Library, Duke University

CINAHL Tutorials via Ovid

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.

Ovid Tutorial - Interactive tutorial from Ovid designed to familiarize you with the core functionality of Ovid's search software

Searching CINAHL Using the Ovid Web Gateway - Medical Center Library, Duke University

CINAHL Tutorials via EBSCO

CINAHL Basic Searching Tutorial -- EBSCO Host Research Databases (runtime 4.5 minutes)

CINAHL Basic Searching - J. Murray Atkins Library, U. of North Carolina, Charlotte (runtime 2 minutes)

CINAHL Advanced Searching - J. Murray Atkins Library, U. of North Carolina, Charlotte (runtime 3 minutes)

CINAHL Advanced Searching Tutorial - EBSCO Host Research Databases (runtime 8.5 minutes)

CINAHL Tutorial - Health Science Center Libraries, University of Florida

Would you like a plain, clear article to print off with step-by-step instructions, explanations, and examples? We can recommend this article. Find it in our HSL e-journal listing.

Lawrence, JC. Techniques for Searching the CINAHL Database Using the EBSCO Interface. AORN Journal, April 2007, 85 (4):779-791.

Web of Science Tutorials

Web of Science Tutorials - A list of several training modules from Thomson Scientific including basic searching, cited reference searching, refining and analyzing searches and many more.

EMBASE Tutorials

EMBASE.com Tutorials - A list of several Flash tutorials from Elsevier including basic searching, advanced searching, drug searching, and tips and tricks.

Evidence Based Medicine Tutorials

Evidence Based Resources: a How-To Guide for the UB Library - UB School of Nursing

Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Resources - Biomedical Libraries, Dartmouth University

Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorial - SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine - Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

National Library of Medicine Databases and Information Sources Tutorials

Interactive Health Tutorials - MEDLINEplus and Patient Education Institute

PubMed Tutorial - National Library of Medicine

My NCBI Tutorial - National Library of Medicine

Distance Education Program Resources - A list of several PubMed Flash tutorials from the National Library of Medicine including searching PubMed, My NCBI and MeSH.

EndNote Tutorials

EndNote Tutorials - Video tutorials from Thomson ResearchSoft

Library Research Techniques Tutorials

BISON Online Tutorials - Basic and advanced searching tutorials. University Libraries, University at Buffalo

Advanced Boolean Searching - University Libraries, Colorado State University

Boolean Searching (Basics) - University Libraries, Colorado State University

Truncation - University Libraries, Colorado State University

Evaluating Internet Sources

Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine

Evaluating Web Pages Checklist: Questions to Ask Web Search Results
from UC Berkeley

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
from "Finding Information on the Internet: a Tutorial", UC Berkeley, Teaching Library Internet Workshops

Five criteria for evaluating Web pages
from the Olin & Uris Libraries at Cornell University

MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing


http://ublib.buffalo.edu/hsl/resources/guides/tutorials.html Created: 18 March 2003 Revised: 16 April 2008