UB
The LibrariesPlease
Choose One

 
 

The Poetry Collection Home | About Us | Collections | ILL | Exhibits | Publications | Links

Introduction

Manuscripts

Spielberg Catalog
(8 MB pdf)

Guide to the James Joyce Digital Manuscript Collection

The James Joyce manuscript archive of The Poetry Collection of the University Libraries, State University of New York at Buffalo, is the largest depository of Joyce's working papers in the world. More than 10,000 scanned pages of this collection are available for research on two work stations in the reading room of the Poetry Collection. The entire archive, including letters and ephemeral and peripheral items, will be added within the next year.

There is an index of materials currently available and this index indicates what manuscripts may be viewed via computer at The Poetry Collection. The work stations at The Collection have live links. There are no live links to this collection available online. Copyright restrictions prohibit wider access at this time.

The arrangement of the Joyce manuscripts is based on the scholarly work of Peter Spielberg and Luca Crispi.

Spielberg's work with the Joyce collection culminated in the publication of James Joyce's Manuscripts and Letters at the University of Buffalo: A Catalogue in 1962. However, a portion of the Ulysses materials arrived after the catalogue had been completed.

Several years ago, Dr. Luca Crispi began to revise, update and complete Spielberg's catalogue based on additions to the collection, contemporary Joyce scholarship and his own scholarship. When completed it will eclipse Spielberg's work and become the definitive guide to the Joyce manuscripts and letters held by The Poetry Collection.

The Spielberg catalog is presently available for reference. As the Crispi catalog evolves, facets of it will be added.

Please click on one of the links to the left if you desire any additional information about the manuscripts.

Browse the manuscripts

 

 
 

The Poetry Collection • University at Buffalo • 420 Capen Hall • Buffalo, NY 14260-2200
Tel 716-645-2917  |  Fax 716-645-3714 |
Mon. thru Fri. (9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.)